Track it Tuesday: Vegetarian Eats

Eventhough it’s late, I can’t resist sharing with all of you what I had to eat today, staying true to my promise of keeping you updated on a day in my life weekly (for 4 weeks, as after that I start teacher’s ed. and can’t imagine managing to do this regularly). I had a day of eating vegetarian, almost vegan until dinner, so I thought I’d make that the theme of today’s post. I am not vegetarian or vegan or any “label”, I really try to eat intuitively, and usually have at least one meal a day which isn’t vegan. Every once in a while, I happen to have a vegan day though, without even trying. 🙂

This morning I woke up with a tummy ache; I have actually been feeling rather bloated and icky lately, similar to when my food allergies started, which has me a little worried. I cut wheat and dairy from my diet a year ago, and truly indulge very rarely; at home I never eat dairy or wheat. There really is no real reason why my stomach should be acting up again…let’s hope it subsides on its own!

Anyways, I couldn’t imagine eating any solid food and giving my digestive system even more trouble, so I opted for a smoothie:

2015-08-25 08.30.27

This Green Peach Smoothie is a new one, and it features my favorite new fruit: doughnut peaches are the bomb! They are so flavorful, sweet and yet light, and mix wonderfully into this creamy, fluffy, green smoothie with endive salad lettuce as a leafy green. I’m posting the recipe some time this week, so stay tuned for that!

Update: The recipe for the Green Peach Smoothie is now up!

As usual, I watched the news with breakfast:

2015-08-25 08.41.56

I always do so in the mornings, as I rarely think of doing so at night, and am usually out and about when the news would be on.

So, after enjoying this smoothie at about 8.30 am, I made myself a large cup of fennel tea, hoping it’d calm down my stomach. Fennel tea always works for me, and I actually quite like the taste (which most people probably consider weird, but it just has such a balancing effect on my tummy that I’ve learned to love it!).

2015-08-25 10.05.00

I spent my morning ironing, and then reading through my new cookbook “Everyday detox” from detoxinista, which came in the mail this morning. I love Megan Gilmore’s concept of food combining, and am excited to try her new recipes!

12.30 pm: I started preparing a lunch bowl at 12.30, but as I was photographing said lunch bowl for a new recipe post, it took me forever. I ended up having this rather quickly prepared lunch at 1.15 pm, and was really hungry by then!

2015-08-25 12.33.08

This large vegan summer quinoa bowl is a goodie, it’s topped with avocado, mango, and my new favorite white bean croutons! It is so incredibly satisfying, yet won’t weigh you down in the afternoon. As you can see in the picture, I also enjoyed a large flask of lemon-orange-infused water, which I refilled several times throughout the day.

2015-08-25 12.34.22

My afternoon ended up being a lot crazier than expected. I had planned to stop by my boyfriend’s parents, who had just come home from their holiday, but ended up busting out a barre3 workout at around 2.30 pm, and so I had to shower etc. first. I also needed to prepare some things for dinner, as we went for a picnic again, and so I was a little frazzled inbetween. It all worked out in the end, though, and I got loads of goodies from my boyfriend’s parents’ garden:

2015-08-25 16.50.45

I even got some homemade pickles, which I am so excited about! The soy-latte in the middle I enjoyed while preparing food for the picnic (organized by my boyfriend’s uncle and one of his friends in the vineyards), eventhough I don’t feel like I should have had it, as it upset my stomach again.

Anyways, before I start complaining about my tummy again: For the picnic, I prepared the hemp seed ranch dip from my new cookbook (linked above) from detoxinista, and loads of veggies to dip in. I also baked some vegan oregano baguettes (Update: Recipe can now be found here) and had some hard-boiled eggs in the fridge, which I brought with me as well. Finally, I packed up the rest of my Vegan Carrot Bread, although I didn’t end up eating any of it, as I was so full from everything including the whole box of grapes (I’m a sucker for grapes).

2015-08-25 18.25.48

My boyfriend commented on the hemp seed ranch dip as being “interesting”, but ended up dipping everything in there, even his cheese!

2015-08-25 18.26.06

Oh, and the baguette, you guys…I am kind of glad I didn’t eat any of the cheese and carrot bread, because I could have just had this freshly baked, still warm bread and would’ve been a happy camper. It’s truly perfect, fluffy on the inside with a firm crust, and delicious in taste! I can’t wait to share it with you, but, like the smoothie and quinoa bowl, I can’t post everything at once. And I am building the suspense this way…*sneaky laugh*

Update: The Wheatfree Oregano Baguette is now online!

IMG-20150825-WA0000

My boyfriend also took two pictures of me, so I thought I’d share them with you! We also enjoyed a bottle of dry white wine with dinner, by the way. I have really been enjoying my wine lately, which is strange because I went without alcohol for quite a while before, simply because I felt like it wasn’t doing my body any good…but sometimes occasion calls for wine, and where better to enjoy a glass than sitting in the vineyards!?

IMG-20150825-WA0001

Alright, that’s enough from me, I really gotta get to bed. I hope you’re enjoying my “Track it Tuesday” posts…any requests for a theme (vegan, low-carb, special dietary needs…something like that?) next week? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

