Wheatfree Oregano Baguette

One of the hardest parts about not being able to eat wheat is not really having access to a lot of “fluffy” bread. I mean the kind of bread anyone watching their health isn’t going to be eating on a regular basis, the croissants, butter buns, baguettes and all their french siblings. I used to love digging into an insanely unhealthy croissant on weekends, and, while I’ve found a bakery that makes spelt-croissants, they still use milk and butter to make them, so I try not to indulge too often. Wheatfree baguette, on the other hand, I have yet to find at a store nearby; especially in summer, when everyone’s barbecuing or having summer parties featuring bread and salad, I find it hard to resist.

Finally, though, I have come up with something that can compete.

Seeing as I went to a picinic in the vineyards with my boyfriend on Tuesday evening, I wanted to pack something easy to transport. I had some veggies and dip, and what better to go along with that than some warm baguette straight from the oven?

Well, I tried not to get my hopes up at first. I have done a lot of baking that ended up edible, even tasty, but I have NEVER achieved the fluffy, light texture I feel a baguette needs to have inside. I used fresh yeast this time, and added some vegan buttermilk (simply soymilk mixed with apple cider vinegar), hoping but not daring to expect said texture.

I got what I hoped for, though. It was awesome!

2015-08-25 17.50.22

As you can see, I sprinkled mine with a bit of grated goat’s cheese, but that’s totally optional! This is fully vegan without the cheese, and gets a crunchy crust with a perfectly fluffy inside! It is PERFECTION, which I continued to boast to my boyfriend the entire night of picnic, along with exhilirated outbursts of screaming “I’m a freaking ROCKSTAR!” after I had taken it out of the oven. It is truly perfect, trust me when I say this. We finished off 1 1/2 baguettes that night, and I really had to restrain myself from eating the rest. My full tummy was already complaining, though, so I decided against it.

2015-08-25 17.48.27

As with any bread containing yeast, you’ll have to plan ahead a bit to let it rise. The rising time for the dough in this case is 1 hour plus 30 minutes…baking time only takes 25 minutes, though, so at least that’s quite quick for a bread!

Wheatfree Oregano Baguette

  • Servings: 2 baguettes
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cube fresh yeast (42g)
  • 1 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 200ml warm water
  • 100ml vegan buttermilk (100ml soymilk + 1 Tbs. apple cider vinegar)
  • 150g spelt flour (1 1/2 cups)
  • 150g wholespelt flour (1 1/2 cups)
  • 50g spelt semolina
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano, plus 1/2 tsp.
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 2 Tbs. grated goat’s cheese (optional)

Procedure:

1. Mix the yeast with the sugar, salt, and warm water. Set aside for 2-3 minutes.

2. Mix the ingredients for the vegan buttermilk in a separate bowl, and set aside.

3. In a large bowl, mix together all of the dry ingredients, excepting 1/2 tsp. oregano, the paprika and the cheese, if using. Then add the yeast-mixture, as well as the vegan buttermilk and knead into a dough. Sprinkle a little of flour on top.

4. Cover the bowl with a fresh handtowl and allow to rest and rise for 1 hour.

5. After 1 hour, knead through the risen dough (you may need a little extra flour if it is too sticky). Then separate into two servings, and roll into baguettes. Set these baguette dough rolls on a baking tin lined with a baking sheet. Cover with the handtowel, and allow to rise for another 30 minutes.

6. Preheat oven to 180°C (355°F). Grate the cheese, if using, then uncover the baguette dough rolls, and spread the cheese, paprika and 1/2 tsp. of oregano on top.

7. Place in the oven for 25 minutes, until the crust is a golden brown.

8. Allow to cool for 5-10 minutes before slicing, then enjoy warm!

Note: Will keep 3 days for sure, any longer and I would keep it in the fridge!

2015-08-25 15.18.28

2015-08-25 15.18.40 2015-08-25 16.43.54

You can see a significant difference in the pictures above: the risen dough is one the right!

2015-08-25 16.49.24 2015-08-25 17.00.23

2015-08-25 17.17.57

Like I said, the cheese on top is not necessary! Feel free to add a seed mixture instead (in which case you may need to add a bit of oil on top to help them stick!).

2015-08-25 17.40.53

Besides looking pretty, these baguettes will also make your appartment (or house) smell heavenly! I would’ve become a baker in another life, I tell you!

2015-08-25 17.40.58

I packed them in some tin foil right away as I was taking them for a picnic, which kept them nice and warm! If you’re not planning on eating them that night, though, allow them to cool completely, and then wrap in some paking parchment, Otherwise you risk some condensation water causing the bread to be “wet” or even mouldy if kept too long.

2015-08-25 18.53.22

This is seriously one of the best recipes up on the blog yet, so I urge you to try making it! It will not disappoint, I promise. If you do make it, please let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

