Green Peach Smoothie

It was so windy outside this week that it felt like the walls of the house were almost shaking. I love days like that, especially if you’re able to stay in the comfort of your home, drink a hot cup of tea or coffee, and coze up on the sofa. I am actually feeling a little down today as well (tummy ache :() so after a little blogging and cleaning, and perhaps a short workout routine if I can get myself to, it’s slouching on the couch for sure! But first, I need to share this new smoothie recipe with all of you…because, well, eventhough it’s colder outside and somehow I am getting the shocking notion that summer is almost over (noooooo! :(), I am really loving myself some green smoothies these days: Just last week, I made this creamy honeymelon avocado smoothie and this sweet cucumber apple smoothie. Green smoothies, you’ve got my love forever.

Doughnut peaches have been all the rage here in Germany, I feel like they are popping up in every store, and I totally get it: not only do they look super strange and therefore make you curious to try them, they are also so much more flavorful and sweet than “normal” peaches. I have been getting mine at our local turkish veggie store, and I love how you enter the store and can already smell those peaches!

As I love deliciouslyella’s peach smoothie, and have it regularly because it is one of the few smoothies my boyfriend actually likes, I figured it’s time to come up with my very own version. I wanted it to be a green smoothie, though, as I feel like fruit smoothies themselves are more of a “treat” rather than a meal for me. I need some sort of veggie in there most of the time, and at least a spoonful of oats or flax to make it satiating.

2015-08-25 08.29.38

As baby spinach hasn’t been in season, I have been testing other leafy greens to put into my smoothies. I have had a lot of success with romaine lettuce, as it’s very mild in taste also, but these endive salad leaves are even harder to detect, in my opinion. They tend to be slightly bitter in the stems, so I removed to lower part of the stem for the larger leaves, but they result in such a beautiful green smoothie color, as you can see above! If you still have baby spinach wherever you live, feel free to use that instead of the endive salad, but I encourage you to try adding different leaves once in a while, to change up both the taste and nutrients of your green smoothies.

Green Peach Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 3 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup endive salad leaves
  • 2 1/2 frozen doughnut peaches
  • 1 medium frozen banana
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1 Tbs. oats
  • 1 tsp. baobab powder (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp. barley grass powder (optional)
  • 1 tsp. hemp protein (optional)

Procedure:

1. Place all the ingredients in your blender, and wait for 5 minutes to allow the peaches and banana pieces to thaw a little. Then blend once until well combined.

2. Blend a second time, making sure the endive leaves are truly broken down, and perhaps add 1/2 a cup of extra water to make it a little bit more liquid.

2015-08-25 08.18.242015-08-25 08.20.56

2015-08-25 08.27.38

Adding hemp protein and barley grass powder to this smoothie increases its nutritious value, but also makes it taste a little “earthier”. I have gotten used to the taste and barely notice it anymore, but if you’re just starting to use superfood powders, I suggest adding very small amounts at first (especially of wheat grass or barley grass powder!!!). I started out using 1/4 tsp. of barley grass powder 6 weeks ago, and have upped it to 1/2 tsp. since 3-4 weeks.

2015-08-25 08.29.46

I love how truly green this smoothie is, yet so wonderfully sweet and light in taste! The banana barely comes through (you should make sure to have a larger amount of peach slices compared to banana slices), and the peaches add a fluffy creaminess to the smoothie without giving it that banana-typical “heaviness”.

2015-08-25 08.30.14

Have a lovely day, people, I am off to make myself a huge mug of tea. Green tea it’ll be, I think.

Leave a Reply

