Track It Tuesday: Comfort Food

It’s Tuesday, and that means you get to “follow me around” for another day, and I’ll keep you posted what I’m eating. I have had serious cramps ever since the weekend, so this week has not started off very good for me. My boyfriend’s also travelling (currently in Hungary because of work), so I’m all by my lonesome self. If that doesn’t call for some serious comfort food, I don’t know what is!

I have been having serious self-pity issues since the weekend. As most of you know, I am both intolerant to dairy products and wheat, which means I can never indulge in fast food without getting a tummy ache or breaking out. Most of the time, I am fine with it, but there are those moments where I really, really wish I could just have a giant soft pretzel with some cheese. Or a pint of beer. Or some whippet cookie. Can you tell where I’m going with this?

It’s our annual fair here in my hometown, wich means a huge ferris wheel is set up right by the river, there are loads of nice food stands selling deliciousness, and there’s a huge beer tent in the center of town. I went with my friends last Friday, on “opening night”, and realized that a) I really don’t like beer tents, b) I really don’t like beer, and c) I don’t like it when everyone can have whatever they want to eat, and I have to practice self-control. It may not seem like a huge problem, and, most of the time, I don’t struggle with it at all, because most of the things I’m allergic to are things that aren’t “healthy” per say. BUT I have come to realize that what’s unhealthy for your body is very healthy for your soul at times. And I feel like I have reached a certain limit when it comes to denying myself those things that I don’t do well with…which happens every few months, actually.

You see, there is a huge difference between abstaining from eating something because it is your choice, or abstaining from having things you know will make you feel bad if you have them. The first is your own choice, which means you can absolutely indulge in some things if you ever do feel the need to; the latter is worse, because you will feel the need to indulge in something you constantly don’t allow yourself to have (for good reason), and then suffer the consequences.

What I am ultimately trying to say: I have been craving all the “bad” stuff, namely toast, cheesy pizza with mozarella on it, mac’n’cheese, even cream tarts. These are all things I rarely miss, but it seems that when I miss them, it’s big time. Naturally, I had to go for comfort food this Tuesday, and, while I tried to keep it on the healthy and “good-for-me” side, I did eat a bit of wheat…it was in the form of whole-wheat toast made from both whole wheat and rye flour, so I didn’t suffer too much. And, since I’m cramping anyway, as it’s my time of the month, it really didn’t make a difference tummy-ache wise. That’s a win-win in some way, right!?

Okay, let’s get to the food diary then: I started the day with my obligatory lemon-water right after I got up.

2015-09-01 08.29.26

I had some errands to run this morning, and some cleaning up to do, so I didn’t have breakfast until about an hour later. I had toast with PB & J, which is the ultimate comfort food breakfast in my book. It takes me back to being a child/teen, before my eating disorder, when it was my favorite thing for breakfast (that and oatmeal with fruit mixed in).

9 am: PB & J on whole wheat toast, 1/2 an apple and 1/2 a banana, and my typical soylatte.

2015-09-01 09.25.24

I was feeling a little sulky this morning, so I lit a candle and tried to conjure up a little joy in my heart. It semi-worked.

After some blogging, packing, phoning, and planning for my move on Sunday, I needed a little pick-me-up, so I had a smoothie made up of a handful of spinach, 1/2 a banana, 1/2 a cup of frozen mango, 1 tangarine and 1/2 a cup of raspberries. Blend it up with some coconut water, and voilá:

11.30 am: Green Mango Tangarine Smoothie

2015-09-01 12.05.47

As you can see, I filled my left-overs in a v.o.s.s. bottle and placed it in the fridge. I’ll either be having that this afternoon, or tomorrow! I have found that most smoothies without protein powder mixed in keep very well overnight. However, their taste does change a little, so I prefer making them fresh. As my boyfriend’s out of town, there’s no one to give the left-overs to, so I’ll have to save it for tomorrow.

At 1 pm, I had lunch: I made myself the 5-ingredient Spelt Tortillas by Angela Liddon (@ohsheglows), filled them with romaine lettuce leaves, quinoa mashed with avocado, ham, diced tomatoes, and green onion, and had some of my favorite carrot salad (recipe is by my grandma, I’ve written it down for you here) on the side.

2015-09-01 13.00.42 2015-09-01 13.03.56

This was seriously the bomb, you guys. I absolutely adored the avocado-creamed quinoa, and it made this one “burrito” extra filling and satisfying!

In the afternoon, I had to go to the bank to get my insurance and money stuff sorted out before I officially start working. As I was trying to leave, it started pouring with rain, which made it pretty difficult for me to get home, as I had gone there by bike…one of kind ladies at the bank actually drove me home by car, but I felt pretty stupid. I made myself a nice cup of vanilla roibosh tea once I got home at 5pm, and enjoyed it with hazelnut butter freezer fudge.

2015-09-01 17.03.10

I topped my tea with some foamed soy-rice milk and ground vanilla, making it look extra fancy! It didn’t really help my mood, though…

For dinner, I had cauliflower pizza with a side of grapes (7.30 pm):

2015-09-01 19.11.52

Oh, and I attempted to make some chocolate chip cookies…and they ended up HUGE! For the result, see my Instagram Account.

 

Leave a Reply

