Track It Tuesday: Vegan Eats

It’s Tuesday once again, which means the last of my four-week challenge of keeping a food diary every Tuesday is up! I may or may not continue these Track It Tuesday posts in the future; I highly doubt I’ll manage every Tuesday, though. I’ll be a working girl next week, so please don’t be too hard on me! Until then, however, you get to enjoy this marvellous post about only vegan eats for once. I actually didn’t plan this to be a “vegan day”, but since I suffered from the stomach flu on the weekend, and I don’t yet feel 100% restored, I am not craving dairy or meat anyways. That’s the beauty about eating vegan – most of the time, it’s truly calming and mild for the stomach, but all the same very nourishing!

Moving has been a bit busy, but I must say that was mostly due to the fact that I was not feeling my best. I was throwing up all of Saturday, and in turn was so weak on Sunday (= moving day) that just walking up and down the stairs was a challenge. Never have I been happier that my boyfriend was able to take a day off of work and stay overnight in my new town, helping me out with everything (or, more like, doing everything :)). I was in a fairly good mood, with some sadness coming through towards noon yesterday, knowing that my boyfriend would have to leave in the afternoon and I’d be all alone in a new apartment in a new town…and, to top the pending tragedy off, when I took out the trash for the first time (for which I had to go to the garage of my landlords), I somehow managed to destroy a huge mirror leaning on the garbage disposal there. I was literally showered in glass pieces, which wasn’t the actual problem for me; I was more worried about having caused a problem for my landlords on the very first full day I was living there.

Needless to say, I was bawling as we picked up the pieces (my boyfriend was still around), and I was really scared about telling my landlords, who turned out to be gone at that moment. So, my boyfriend and I went for a cup of coffee/tea, and, on our way back, we got showered in icecold rain. I seriously don’t know what the universe was trying to tell me yesterday! When we finally got back to my apartment, I ran into my landlords, whom I tried to immediately tell what had happened with the mirror. My landlady broke out laughing, telling me they had been wondering how on earth they should discard that old mirror without making a huge mess by shattering it, and that they were so thankful I took that problem off of their hands. (Have I mentioned that I have the BEST landlords!?) Obviously, I felt incredibly relieved, and so grateful to have found such understanding and kind people. After my boyfriend had left, they even drove me around the town, showing me all the shortcuts/ratruns I could take to get to school, the train station etc. Amazing people!!!

Getting back to today, which is what this post is supposed to be about :), I woke up fairly disoriented, but I guess that’s pretty normal when you move. I had prepared some overnight oats last night, two jars full to be exact, and this morning I chose my peanutbutter-cacao nib oatmeal. I have a cashewbutter-vanilla oatmeal in store for tomorrow or Thursday, so I think I’m covered for the week! I love how overnight oats make mornings so much easier and even a little exciting, because you get to choose your toppings!

I opted for some roasted apple slices on top, simply because it’s really cold around here already, and, despite my steaming cup of herbal tea, I still wanted something warm and softer than crunchy apple on top. I simply sliced the apple, placed the slices in a non-stick pan, allowed them to brown a little and added a splash of water until they were soft. The texture was perfect in the end, as they were soft but not mushy!

8.45 am: Peanutbutter-Cacaonib Overnight Oats with Roasted Apple

2015-09-08 08.52.11

For the Overnight Oats, I use a standard recipe, which I switch up as I see fit. I actually don’t remember if I read it somewhere or simply adapted it from different recipes, but basically, you just mix

  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 Tbs. chia seeds
  • 1 cup plantmilk
  • 1 tsp. nutbutter

in a jar, and let it sit in the fridge overnight. I like to add a teaspoon of cacao nibs sometimes (also the night before), as I did for this morning’s oats, and then I top it all with whatever I see fit!

2015-09-08 08.53.15

Depending on how much milk you add, it will be thicker or thinner; I think I may have added a little over a cup (I don’t have my cup measurements with me, so I had to use a coffee mug), which made it quite runny, so I will definitely add less next time. I already ordered a second assortment of cups, though, so I’ll be fine the next time I make these!

As you can see in the picture above, I also had a cup of tea with breakfast, and actually another one after breakfast, because a) it is freezing cold, and b) I have a runny nose, so I figure the more tea, the better. Also, since my stomach is only just getting back to normal, I don’t really want to strain it by drinking coffee yet. Maybe this afternoon, but I’ll wait and see how it goes. I have coffee-drinking phases, and tea-drinking-phases, and, the colder it gets, the more tea I drink (I guess because you can drink an infinite amount of tea without it affecting your concentration).

After breakfast, I went to get registrated at the mayor’s office, and, since the sun was shining, I walked through the city center on my way home. It’s truly a beautiful small city, and I think I could’ve done much worse! I was really hungry when I got “home” to my apartment, and, since I had some rice left-over from Sunday (I only ate plain rice, didn’t trust my stomach to keep anything else down), I figured I’d make myself a quick rice-bean-pea-dish, along with a salad. I had originally only planned a salad, but it’s just too cold to eat cold food only. I don’t know how I’ll survive winter here if I’m already freezing now!!

1 pm: Summery Tangarine Salad and Rice-Pea-Bean-Stirfry

2015-09-08 12.50.36

I loved how this bowl turned out! I had an apple cider vinegar dressing on my salad, tossed some pomme granade seeds in there, as well as a sweet tangarine, and it was just so perfect! Tasted like summer, despite the temperatures. And my bean/pea/rice mix was really tasty, and warm especially! I bought some fresh herbs yesterday, and actually thought I had picked up cilantro, but turns out it just looks like cilantro and is something different – now I just don’t know what!? It tastes really good, though, kind of like the herbs in asian dishes. Any thoughts what it could be?

After some paperwork (yes, I do paperwork now, I’m a big girl!), I was actually craving that cup of coffee. My stomach handled it fairly well, especially since I didn’t pair it with fruit, but a clif bar! I have had a french press for ages, but never really used it, as I feel I didn’t quite know how much coffee to put in it etc. I think I figured it out, it tasted quite good, eventhough I prefer the “lighter”, milder coffee my senseo produces at home.

4 pm: French Pressed Cinnamon Coffee and a Chocolate Almond Fudge Clif Bar

2015-09-08 15.47.07

Anyways, let’s focus less on the coffee, and more on the Chocolate Almond Fudge Clif Bar! My sister got me two types of Clif Bars before I left, and told me I should have them in a moment of sadness or loneliness. While I am nowhere close to feeling as sad as I did yesterday, I still felt it was apropriate to eat one of them on my very first full day alone in my new town. I have never tried this particular type before, and I must say that up until now, the White Chocoalte Macadamia Clif Bar has been my favorite. No longer, though – this Chocolate Almond Fudge bar is surreal, you guys! It is truly fudgy, chocolatey, and amazingly delicious! Paired with my slightly cinnamon-flavored coffee, it was the perfect pick me up this afternoon!

About pairing coffee and fruit: I do that alot, but I have found that often, it really doesn’t become my tummy very well. Perhaps because the acidity overload is too much to handle? As I tend to drink more tea during colder weather, anyways, it doesn’t matter too much, but I wonder if that’s actually a thing…

After my “pick-me-up” snack, I went for a very long run in the woods. I didn’t plan on it being as long as it was, and I wish I knew exactly how many kilometers I ran in the 75-80 minutes I was out and about. It is truly beautiful here, though, and I enjoyed every second of it. I was truly wiped out by the time I got back “home”, but in a really good way. After a shower and a short meet-up with a colleague (there I go being grown-up and fancy again…I have colleagues now!), I was ready to dig in to the left-over pizza I had ordered on Sunday night with my boyfriend. I feared my stomach wouldn’t be able to deal with both wheat and dairy, and therefore ordered it without the cheese…and it was one of the best veggie pizzas I have ever had!

8.30 pm: Left-over pizza and a banana

2015-09-08 20.34.19

This pizza was toppd with corn, zucchini (which looks like cucumber), aubergines and broccoli. It looks like a lot, but the dough is superthin, so it was a perfect serving for me. Since my run turned out to be so long, I was craving something more, and had a perfect spotty banana for a dessert, loading up on potassium and magnesium! I love bananas so much.

2015-09-08 20.46.13

Sorry for the bad quality, my front camera is really, really bad.

Alright, as I feel like this post has been going on way too long, I have no wise words for you at the end of this one. I had a very good day, and I am super psyched to be starting a new chapter of my life here, especially since my landlords are really great, and my apartment is very pretty! Like I said, I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep these “Track It Tuesday” Posts up, so don’t count on it on a weekly basis…as mentioned, I’ll be a working girl next week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

