Peanutbutter Cup Freezer Fudge From Scratch

The first day back at school is a big deal for all kiddos, even if they pretend that it’s not (and rather, kind of a drag). The first day back at school after 5 years, however, is a HUGE deal. And that’s where it’s at today, for me! I am finally starting my teacher’s ed years, and I am beyond psyched, nervous, giddy, happy, proud. Which called for some celebratory cooking…and, as freezer fudge is the next big thing, it seemed logical to prepare it for such a momentous day.

Maybe it has been a huge thing forever, and I’m only realizing it now. In any case, I am absolutely LOVING freezer fudge, and have tried all kinds of recipes lately to find the perfect combination. And, while I must say making freezer fudge out of coconut butter using the detoxinista’s recipe is absolutely blissful, I had to come up with the type of freezer fudge I haven’t yet found anywhere…peanutbutter cup freezer fudge!

Before I share the excitement of the recipe with you, though, I need to shower you with some pictures of the beautiful back-to-school-present my mommy made for me (and I say “mommy” to show you how much I felt like a giddy little kid when I got this yesterday – in a fabulously good way!): A school-cone!

Foto 14.09.15 09 59 29

Handmade by my mom, and stuffed with all the goodies, like apple chips, tea, b12 supplements, homemade jam, and even some “sinful” chocolate filled with brittle! I can’t even describe how much I loved the gesture (and the presssssieeess, of course). My mom is AWESOME!

Foto 14.09.15 09 59 47

Sometimes it just takes an act like that to make you feel cherished and loved. Which brings me back to the recipe I actually (kinda) wanted to talk about in this post . This recipe is so exciting because I made it from scratch, and it turned out amazing anyways!!! And, while that is normally not surprising, it is when you’re talking about making CHOCOLATE from scratch. I recently ran out (OH NO!!!), and my favorite store doesn’t carry the kind I like best anymore, it seems, so I’m kind of stuck. I hate spending a lot of money on chocolate brands that I don’t know, because I fear I’ll be wasting my money. Those are third world problems (and food blogger problems) for sure, but, you know, I had to share them with you.

Anyways, since I didn’t have any chocolate around, I figured I’d give making some from scratch a try. I must say I’m quite pleased with the result…oh, who am I kidding, I already gulped down about 6 of these, so they must be ridiculously delicious, right? (Or, maybe I just don’t have any self-control, but let’s not assume the worst.)

2015-08-30 14.39.38

These freezer fudge PB cups are seriously addictive, especially if you’re suffering from warm weather at the moment. They melt in your mouth, are icecold yet somehow don’t hurt if you stick them in your mouth directly from the freezer. They are sweet and salty, and the chocolate layers are rich and intense…I am in love with these!

2015-08-30 14.40.19

Of course, the heart shapes make them even more adorable. But any kind of plastic tray works to make these, even an icecube tray (which works for any type of freezer fudge, actually!). They are super easy and quick to make, making them perfect to prepare for the upcoming week, even if you’re totally stressed out!

I feel like having “clean” homemade snacks around is extremely important for keeping up with healthy eating. You are going to crave sweets and junk food sooner or later, no matter what “diet” you are on, and having this kind of deliciousness around is sure to help you satisfy those cravings without feeling (too) guilty. Naturally, they still contain fat and sugar, but do as my sister would and simply state: “It’s the good kind of fat and sugar!”

Peanutbutter Cup Freezer Fudge From Scratch

  • Servings: 18
  • Time: 15 min
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the chocolate layer:

  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, molten
  • 2 tsp. honey (or maple syrup, for vegan version)
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground vanilla

for the peanutbutter layer:

  • 1/4 cup all-natural peanutbutter
  • 2 tsp. maply syrup
  • 3 Tbs. soymilk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • a drizzle of salt

Procedure:

1. Whisk together all the ingredients for the chocolate layer. Fill a chocolate praline tray (or icecube tray) with half of the chocolate layer mix, and place in the freezer.

2. Prepare the peanutbutter layer by mixing together all the ingredients, adding as much soymilk as you need to make the mix “runny”. You need to be able to pour this layer on top of the chocolate layer, so if it isn’t “pourable”, add more than 3 Tbs. of milk.

3. Take the praline tray out of the freezer, and pour the peanutbutter layer on top, filling about 2/3 of each mould.

Note: You may have some peanutbutter layer mix left-over, as I did. Save it for dipping apple slices!!!

4. Place the tray back in the freezer for 5 minutes, then take back out and add the second chocolate layer, filling each mould completely.

5. Place back in the freezer for at least an hour, then pop out of the mould/tray and store in the freezer until serving. As these melt extremely quickly, I would suggest eating them directly from the freezer.

I used honey to sweeten the chocolate layer, but, if you’re vegan, simply sub for maple syrup instead. I am loving the taste of honey lately, which is why I opted for it. These freezer fudge bites are different from my version of Reese’s Peanutbutter Cups, so don’t get the two confused! I really love both versions, but prefer this one at the moment. For transporting, though, I would make the actual peanutbutter cups, as the freezer fudge cups need to stay cooled before eating!

2015-08-30 14.40.01

These are delicious on top of a nicecream bowl, alongside a cup of coffee, or even molten on top of a hot oatmeal bowl! The peanutbutter layer is extremely light and fluffy, almost as if it had been whipped, which is mostly due to the milk mixed in beforehand. Go ahead and make these for a special friend, even if it isn’t Valentine’s Day…those heart-shaped fudge bites are sure to make anyone fall in love with you(r cooking skills). 🙂

Foto 14.09.15 09 59 49

I’m off grinning crazily, walking to school with a backpack. What are you guys up to? Do you have any back-to-school rituals?

2 thoughts on “Peanutbutter Cup Freezer Fudge From Scratch

Leave a Reply

