White Chocolate Chunk Cashew Cookies

It’s the end of my second week as a teacher, and I feel like I’m actually only getting started feeling like I am a teacher. I am absolutely loving my job, even if the past two weeks have truly been draining. But, I really do not mean that in a negative sense. I feel like I’ve finally reached the goal I’ve been working so hard for at university, and, eventhough it’s not “relaxing” or easy to get up early, and do all kinds of things I’ve never done before, I am loving it. I don’t doubt I’ll have my “down” phase at some point, but for now, I am super content being tired from going to school, learning to be teacher for real (not just in theory, as I did at university), and actually getting to teach kids. How unbelievably awesome is that?

Nonetheless, I have been tired this weekend, and Friday afternoon really passed me by in a blur. I actually managed to get things done after school, but my head was so worn out from all the new aspects of life suddenly crashing in on me that I don’t remember much. I do remember baking, though.

I have been reacting to soymilk a little, which is beyond annoying, but, on the upside (which I am trying to be all about these days), I have had the greatest excuse to make cashew nutmilk. Cashew milk is my favorite coffee creamer, eventhough it is expensive to make. However, if you don’t throw out the cashew nutpulp after you’ve run it through the blender and nutmilk bag, it’s not quite as bad! I have shared a recipe for using nutpulp for chocolate pralines  before, or you could make some healthy vegan carrot bread using nutpulp, but today I’d like to offer you another option.

Before I tell you about it, though, I just wanted to let you know that my nutmilkpulp kept for 5 whole days in an airtight container in the fridge – the recipe calls for 1 whole cup of nutpulp, which is the equivalent of two sessions of nutmilk making for me. I don’t recommend making a double batch of my homemade cashew nutmilk, though, as the nutmilk usually only keeps for three days; and I find it tragic whenever cashew milk goes bad. It’s just too good! But for me, one batch of nutmilk lasts for 3 days if I drink 1-2 cups of coffee a day, so a double batch within 5 days is no problem.

Anyways, you just basically need 1 cup of nutpulp. That’s the summary of the above paragraph. 🙂

The cookies, eventhough they call for white chocolate chunks, are vegan – I finally found dairyfree white chocolate in a local store here! I find it extremely sweet, especially since I’ve been eating dark chocolate for at least a year now, but sometimes I really like it (you know the time of the month), and it works wonderfully in these cookies. Of course, you could use dark chocolate in this recipe just as well, but it’ll significantly change the pure vanilla taste.

2015-09-25 14.15.24

The cookies are also wheat-free and can easily be made glutenfree if you use brown rice flour or ground oats instead of spelt flour!

2015-09-25 17.52.15

I love that these cookies are super crunchy, like those danish buiscuits you can buy! They only pack much less butter and sugar; however, let me mention these don’t really count as “healthy” cookies, as there is sugar, maple syrup and chocolate involved. Sometimes a girl just needs a real cookie, you know? And I pride myself in the fact that they’re at least homemade, so I know they are clean from any artificial, chemical ingredients.

2015-09-25 17.54.03

White Chocolate Chunk Cashew Cookies

  • Servings: 15
  • Time: 10 min, + 20 min
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cashew nutpulp
  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 flax egg
  • 1 Tbs. coconut oil, molten
  • 1/3 cup white chocolate chunks
  • 2 Tbs. maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp. ground vanilla
  • a drizzle of salt

Procedure:

1. Preheat your oven to 150°C (300°F).

2. Mix 1 Tbs. of ground flax with 3 Tbs. of water, and set aside to form your flax egg.

3. In a large bowl, combine all of the ingredients, including the flax egg once it has thickened. Mix into a smooth dough.

4. Using your hands, form small balls and set on a baking tin lined with baking parchment.

5. Using a fork, press down onto the dough balls to flatten them.

6. Bake for 10 minutes at 150°C, then take them out of the oven and turn them over, to make sure they brown evenly on both sides. Place them back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes, until they are crunchily brown.

7. Allow them to cool, then store them in an airtight container for longer shelf life.

2015-09-25 14.07.39

Of course, this will work with any other nutpulp as well, though white chocolate and the mild, sweet cashew go together so SO well! I am sure they would be pretty awesome with macadamia nuts or amonds as well.

2015-09-25 14.12.13 2015-09-25 14.14.39

You don’t need to worry about the cookies spreading out – flatten them until you have your desired thickness, and that’s how thick they’ll be.

2015-09-25 15.03.28

After I had done all my “homework” on Friday afternoon, I remembered I had taken these out of the oven an hour earlier (I know, I can’t imagine I forgot…but that just goes to show how braindead I was), and had to munch on three of them right away!

2015-09-25 17.38.42

The sugar and maple syrup really caramelized, leaving a wonderful caramel taste to these supercrunchy cookies. There’s no “soft center” to be found here, so please don’t expect it. I wanted a crunch, and I got it!

2015-09-25 17.38.53

The flax seeds definitely add a slightly healthy aspect, and the fact that nutpulp was used to make these means they keep you from wasting food, which is always good, but they are also lower in carbs than your standard cookie. As an even healthier option, you may want to use xylitol to sub out half of the sugar; however I have no idea whether the “caramel”-effect will be as awesome.

2015-09-25 17.53.35

I am definitely set for sweet tooth cravings this week! If you aren’t (yet), why not prepare yourself some homemade nutmilk and then have an awesome excuse to bake cookies?

Have a good week!

One thought on “White Chocolate Chunk Cashew Cookies

Leave a Reply

