Easy Vegan Tomato Protein Pasta

A week before I moved, I was really out of it. My boyfriend was out of town for work, and I didn’t have a lot to do, excepting a little bit of packing and some minor organizational stuff. My parents were also out of town, enjoying a vacation, and the result was that I felt utterly alone in the world. It’s fair to say I was slightly depressed, feeling the weight of all the “new” things that would be coming at me as if they were already coming at me…and I just really don’t do well not having anything to do to distract me from those kinds of feelings. I know it’s irrational, I know there’s absolutely no point to fretting over what “might be”, but it’s a very common pattern for me.

The good thing is that I knew it would stop. I knew that I had only one week left before I moved, and, that once I moved, I would be so busy that there would be no time to be depressed. I think that’s how I now know that even when I feel the depression coming on, it won’t ever get too bad: there’s usually still an ounce of rationality telling me that those feelings are going to change.

When I find myself in bad moods or a depressed state, I go crazy baking or preparing sweets, until I could hide underneath a big pile of deliciously sugary goodness. I am not sure why that somehow makes me feel better, but it does. The problem is that during those times, I really don’t feel up to actual cooking, for whatever reason. Which is why I made the easiest pasta dish ever that week before I moved – done in under 30 minutes, it’s a lifesaver on those days that you either just don’t feel like cooking, or don’t really have the time.

2015-08-28 19.05.45

It’s also helps that this is actual PASTA that we’re talking about, which is the best comfort food in my book! I used spelt-pasta, simply because I can’t have the wheat-version, and ripe tomatoes from my boyfriend’s parent’s garden, which made for the best, most flavorful tomato sauce! Oh, and I added some of the white bean croutons I made for both my Vegan Quinoa Summer Bowl and The September Salad, simply because I love them these days. They are so super crunchy and delicious, I could eat a plate of them for dinner!

2015-08-28 19.07.18

Easy Vegan Tomato Protein Pasta

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Time: 20 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. chili oil
  • 1 tsp. tomato-infused oil
  • 4 cups diced tomatoes
  • 2 small yellow onions
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 handful rocket
  • 1 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp. italian herb mix
  • 250g pasta

for the bean croutons:

see this recipe

Procedure:

1. Boil water and prepare pasta according to the description on the packet.

2. Dice the onion, garlic, and tomatoes. Heat the oils in a pan, and then add the onion first, until it looks glassy. Then add the garlic and tomatoes, and stir well.

3. Allow to sautée while you add the sugar and 1 tsp. of salt. If you need, add a splash of water to keep from burning.

4. Heat the oil for the beans (see linked recipe) and then prepare the beans according to the description. While you do so, keep the tomato-sauce-pan covered and on low heat.

5. After 10 minutes of simmering, add the italian herbs to the tomato sauce, and add more water if it is too thick. Taste-test and add more salt, if you need.

6. After 5 more minutes of simmering, add the freshly ground pepper, and the chopped rocket. Stir well, and mix in the pasta and bean croutons.

Note: This tastes very good cold as well!

2015-08-28 18.41.56 2015-08-28 18.53.17

2015-08-28 18.55.592015-08-28 18.56.49

You could always prepare a larger batch of the sauce and freeze it to heat on an even busier day!

2015-08-28 18.56.52

The rocket is optional in theory, but it makes this dish look so much prettier anfd adds some extra greens! If you don’t like rocket because it is so spicy, change it up by adding some spinach instead!

2015-08-28 19.02.11 2015-08-28 19.02.29

I really don’t suggest skipping the white bean croutons, they not only make this dish more protein-rich and filling, they are also hands-down one of the greatest things I have come up with lately!

2015-08-28 19.06.08

My boyfriend was kind enough to keep is hand still long enough for me snap a picture…

2015-08-28 19.07.25

…and another picture…

2015-08-28 19.07.45

…and another one. That’s true love, guys, if your boyfriend waits patiently while the hot pasta is right in front of him!

Alright, I hope I’ve made your lives a bit easier by sharing this super simple and quickly made pasta dish – and, like I said, feel free to prepare a larger batch and eat it as a type of “pasta salad” the next day!

4 thoughts on “Easy Vegan Tomato Protein Pasta

Leave a Reply

