Tahini Honey Oatmeal

Okay, so what I’ve noticed is that if I blog non-recipe posts, people aren’t that interested. It’s something I’ve solely deduced from the amount of likes on a post, and it seems that my Track it Tuesday posts, for example, aren’t that big a hit. I’m a bit disappointed, but hey, if it’s recipes you want, it’s recipes you’ll get!!!

It’s starting to get colder, and so the time for hot and sexy oatmeal bowls has officially started! I figured I’d treat you with a very special one this Monday morning…because who doesn’t need something special at the beginning of the week!?

I love oatmeal for breakfast when it’s cold out. There’s just something so insanely comforting about steaming hot oatmeal, and I love how you can go crazy with your toppings. In this particular case, the tahini and honey drizzled on top really kick it up a notch, and you can pair it with whichever fresh/dried fruit you wish. Or nuts. Or blissballs. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

I was home over the weekend, and enjoyed the time with my boyfriend so SO much. It reminded me that I really really love the guy (sorry if that’s too cheesy for you), and we had so much fun. We went out for mexican food on Friday night, and he spent the entire Saturday preparing the most delicious meal for us! I love that I have a boyfriend who cooks. I only got to make the salad and dessert…so I grabbed my deliciouslyella cookbook and made her apple and blackberry crumble, as well as some coconut-peach-nicecream and chocolate-date-sauce to go along with it. It was truly divine!

Sunday, I went to church and then visited the local market we had in our small town. Last year, I had bought bee pollen there, so I was really excited to go see all the cool and healthy stuff they were selling. I love strolling through a market…it’s one of the most relaxing things for me! Come Sunday afternoon, however, I had to leave to drive back to the town I work in. It’s a 3 hour drive, so I had to leave at 5 pm in order to arrive at a decent time.

As it was quite sad having to leave again after such an awesome weekend, I figured this morning I’d need a blissful bowl of warm oatmeal…otherwise this week would start with a big dark feeling of gloom. Nobody’s got time for those feelings, so here it is: my comforting tahini honey oatmeal bowl!

2015-10-03 15.50.37

I have been adoring tahini lately, but it has been something that has had to grow on me. I don’t particularly like it plain, but mixed into oatmeal or smoothies, I find it divine!

Tahini Honey Oatmeal

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 5-7 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup soy-rice milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp. tahini
  • 1/2 tsp. honey
  • toppings (e.g. dried cranberries, a chocolate blissball, more banana)

Procedure:

1. Mash up the banana with the oats and soy-rice milk, then stir in 1 tsp. of tahini.

2. Microwave for 1 1/2 minutes, then take out and stir. Microwave for another minute.

3. Drizzle with 1/2 tsp. tahini and 1/2 tsp. honey, and any other toppings you’d like!

Note: To make this more filling, add 1 Tbs. of flax or chia seeds to the oats.

1 2015-10-03 15.41.10

I know some people aren’t into banana (cue in my sister), but I love oatmeal with a banana mashed in. Of course, you could omit it and add some date purée instead to achieve some sweetness.

2015-10-03 15.42.00

Adding the tahini should be duely celebrated…really swirl that goodness into the mix!

2015-10-03 15.42.33 2015-10-03 15.47.14

And then microwave until it thickens up. Of course, you can do this on the stove just as well – I like using the microwave because it’s quicker, and who doesn’t need a quick breakfast throughout the week?

2015-10-03 15.48.19

Like I said, you can go crazy with your toppings and switch it up as much as you like. In this case, I added half a banana, 1 1/2 Tbs. of cranberries, and one of my ultimate chocolate protein balls.

2015-10-03 15.48.24

Then, you can proceed to drizzle the tahini and honey on top!

2015-10-03 15.50.10

For a wholly vegan version, use maple syrup instead of honey.

2015-10-03 15.54.17

This is one of my all-time favorite oatmeal bowls, as the honey and tahini really make it super creamy and sweet, and the banana adds a mild taste of something exotic, so that this is truly a comfort-food-bowl. Make this for breakfast this week and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

