The Best Natural Flu Remedy Drink

This week seriously didn’t start too well for me. I drove back to my work-town on Sunday night after quite a blissful weekend at home, but I already had a runny nose and felt a little out of it. It all culminated in a night of laying awake because both my nostrils wouldn’t allow me to breathe, and I had the worst headache when I woke up on Monday morning. Somehow, I got through Monday, even taught a lesson, and kind of broke down health-wise when I finally got home Monday afternoon. You know when you’re so sick that your eyes start watering? That was me. I was waiting for people to ask me why I was publicly weeping all day.

But, you know, what to do when you’re sick? You just have to wait it out. Which sucks almost as much as being sick in the first place…I do NOT handle being sick very well at all, let me tell you. I’m always somewhere in between a grumpy 13-year-old who is mad at the world for her dire fate, and a sad 4-year-old who just wants her mommy. Needless to say, my Monday afternoon was terrible, and I actually didn’t think I’d make it to school Tuesday.

Luckily, I woke up feeling a lot better yesterday, and I am back to my usual self today. I did buy some medicine yesterday, but it always takes me a while to actually admitt I am sick enough to take actual drugs. So, in the meantime, I try to hammer myself with all the natural flu remedies I know of…which is where today’s recipe comes in!

While I don’t want to claim that if you drink this special drink you’ll overcome your flu in a heartbeat, I do believe it speeds up the process, and it definitely soothes the symptoms. It’s a mix of herbal tea, fresh ginger, sweet orange, vitamin-C-loaded lemon and a healthy dose of fennel-infused honey. Sounds healthy enough to you? That’s what I thought. Surprisingly, it tastes pretty yummy, too!

2015-10-06 13.57.37

The Best Natural Flu Remedy Drink

  • Servings: 1.5L
  • Time: 20 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1.5L water
  • 2 herbal tea bags (preferably orange-ginger-infused herbal tea)
  • 1 thumb-sized piece of fresh ginger
  • 1/2 orange
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1 tsp. fennel-infused honey

Procedure:

1. Heat up 1.5L in a pot, and place the tea bags and the fresh ginger (diced) in the water. (Optional: place the ginger in a loose teabag, if you have one.)

2. Bring to a boil, and, once it is boiling, turn down the heat. Allow to simmer for at least 10 minutes. Cover with a lid.

3. Slice the orange, and add the slices to the pot. Stir in the honey. Turn off the heat, and cover for another 5 minutes.

4. Pour the drink into a jug, and add the lemon juice.

5. Serve hot and steaming!

If you don’t have one of the ingredients, don’t worry, this is quite versatile. You could fennel tea bags and normal honey, for example, if you don’t have orange-ginger-infused herbal tea and fennel-infused honey.

2015-10-06 13.45.25

For people living in Germany: I got both of these at the supermarket “Norma”.

2015-10-06 13.42.35 2015-10-06 13.44.38

If you are making this for a child, I’d suggest cutting back on the ginger, as it may be too spicy for children.

2015-10-06 13.50.53

For an even sweeter version, juice the other half of the orange and add that to your drink.

2015-10-06 13.55.25 2015-10-06 13.55.31

2015-10-06 13.59.00

Make sure you don’t have any of the orange slices in your drink once you pour it out of the pot into your jug, as the orange may leave a bitter taste after a while.

2015-10-06 13.59.25

I love this drink whenever I’m sick…though it somehow tastes much better when my boyfriend makes it for me. Any ideas why?

Stay healthy, everybody, even if it’s flu season! And if you have any other natural flu rememdies, let me know in the comments below…let’s help each other out!

Leave a Reply

