Warming Autumn Oatmeal

As of today, I am officially freezing. Everybody warned me about the icy temperatures around here, but it turns out I wasn’t prepared after all…at least not for it to be this cold in October! Which is all the more reason to have tea and coffee (or any warm drinks for that matter) throughout the entire day, and wear a big woolly scarf to go along with it.
The only positive result that comes with cold weather is the fact that I am craving warm breakfast bowls again – it’s all about the smoothie bowls when it’s hot, and about the oatmeal when it’s cold. I therefore am officially ringing in the oatmeal-season with my “Autumn Oatmeal” that is sure to fight off any cold temperature crisis you may be having.

As most of you know, I usually prepare my oatmeal bowls in the microwave to save time. Only recently have I discovered that spending those extra 10 minutes at the stove in the mornings makes oatmeal that much more fluffy and fun…so I have been making a mess of my entire kitchen at 6 am every day these past few days. It is completely worth it though, because a nice breakfast makes me smile the entire morning…which is extremely important when dealing with a bunch of grumpy, sleepy teenagers who really don’t feel like learning any English at 7.45am (yes, this school’s first lesson actually starts at 7.45 am!).

I have been feeling simplistic concerning my food lately…anyone following my instagram account will have noticed a lot of “buddha bowl”-style dinners, in which I simply throw all the left-overs I have in a bowl along with some fresh veggies and a dollop of ajvar or sheep’s yogurt and call it an assembled masterpiece. I am extremely proud that I’ve upheld my clean eating and healthy eating choices despite the fact that I started working, but most nights the motivation to come up with something completely amazing and, more importantly, new, is lacking.

All the more reason to be happy about this autumn oatmeal bowl! It’s so super simple, consists of only a few ingredients, and there’s an entire grated apple in just one serving, making this perfect for kiddos who are refusing fruit or veggies. Next up, I’m testing zucchini oatmeal, just you wait.

2015-10-13 06.36.41

Whether or not you top your oatmeal with anything is really up to you. It tastes deliciously creamy and lightly sweet without any toppings, but I am sure you could add some honey or maple syrup if you have a sweet tooth! What I absolutley love about this bowl of goodness is that it is sugarfree, only consists a few ingredients, is vegan, glutenfree and nutfree! Yup, it kicks any other breakfast to the curb.

2015-10-13 06.38.53

Warming Autumn Oatmeal

  • Servings: 1
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 apple, grated
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 cup plantmilk
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 heaped tsp. sunflowerseedbutter
  • toppings, for example dried apple, granola, nuts

Procedure:

1. Grate the apple, and add to a small pot on the stove. Add the oats, and plantmilk, and bring to a boil.

2. Turn down the heat and stir in the cinnamon and sunflowerseedbutter. Allow to simmer for at least 3 minutes, preferably 5-7 min.

3. Pour into serving bowl, and add desired toppings.

The riper and sweeter your apple, the sweeter your oatmeal will obviously be! If you don’t want to use sunflowerseedbutter or don’t have it, feel free to use any other nutbutter (I am sure peanutbutter is amazing).

2015-10-13 06.28.28 2015-10-13 06.30.15

Eventhough 1/3 cup of oats may not seem like a lot, this bowl of oatmeal is extremely filling and completely satisfying! If you do find you’re still hungry, try adding a tablespoon of flax seeds or chia seeds to the mix, as well as some nuts as a topping.

2015-10-13 06.30.59 2015-10-13 06.32.15

2015-10-13 06.33.35

The longer you cook your oatmeal, the thicker it will be. If you like it really thick, though, add 1/3 cup less milk to start with!

2015-10-13 06.39.12

I topped it all of with dried apple and some spelt-honey granola. It added the perfect amount of crunch!

2015-10-13 06.42.28

For a really decadent version, add some more nut/seedbutter on top and swirl it in! I love it simple and straight up, though. Stay warm, everybody, and, if you’re feeling under the weather, grate a bit of ginger into this yummy bowl and boost your immune system!

Leave a Reply

