Super Spicy Squash Soup

I just spent about five seconds coming up with the alliteration that is my title of this blog post – be proud of me, will ya!?

Tonight I am dropping a quick post on you, featuring mostly the recipe and less of the rambling, simply because I have been sitting at my desk for quite some time and, quite frankly, I am sick of it. If there is one thing I am looking forward to once I am a “real” teacher, not just one in training, it’s that I will actually be standing throughout most of my morning. Currently, I am standing up during my breaks, because otherwise I’d be sitting throughout the entire day…which my back is absolutely hating.

Alright, that’s all the rambling for today, I promise. Let’s just get to the soup.

I have had a yellow squash sitting around in my apartment for over a week, and it was begging to be made into soup every time I came home from school…so today, finally, was the day I answered its pleas. This soup is really easy and quick to make, and you can really make it with any type of squash or pumpkin you’d like. My squash came from my landlord, who apparently has these growing in his garden, and he offered one to me – so who am I to say no to free food?

This soup ended up being extremely spicy and hot, but that’s because I underestimated how hot my fresh chilis actually were. Usually, the store-bought chilis aren’t nearly as spicy as the ones that you may be growing yourself, so I figured a whole one wouldn’t be too much…turns out I was almost crying as I was eating. My suggestion for the recipe is therefore: If you aren’t sure you like spicy (hot) soup, only use half a chili instead of a whole one, or skip it altogether, or use garlic instead.

My absolute favorite thing about this squash soup is…oh wait, there are two favorite things. The first favorite thing is its wonderful yellow, sunshine-y color:

2015-10-20 19.32.47

The second favorite thing is the fact that you can add just about anything as a topping to this beautiful soup, and it will taste even better:

2015-10-20 19.34.07

I went a little crazy and added chopped green onion, white bean croutons, some plain maize tortilla chips and a healthy dollop of sheep’s milk yogurt, as it was really really hot. If you skip the yogurt or use soy yogurt instead, this soup is vegan!

Super Spicy Squash Soup

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 30 min.
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 pumpkin/squash (medium-sized)
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 chili (or less)
  • 1 Tbs. coconut oil
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/2 can coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. agave syrup
  • 1/2 tsp. curry
  • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme

optional toppings:

  • white bean croutons
  • tortilla chips (glutenfree)
  • chopped green onion
  • dollop of (soy/sheep’s milk) yogurt

Procedure:

1. Cut your pumpkin into pieces, and chop the onion and chili.
2. Heat the coconut oil in a large pot, and then sautée the onion and chili. Once the onions start turning “glassy”, pour in the vegetable broth and add the pumpkin pieces. If needed, add more broth until the pumpkin pieces are fully covered.

3. Bring to a boil, and then allow to simmer for 15 minutes, until the pumpkin pieces are soft.

4. After 15 minutes, take off of the heat, add the coconut milk, and then purée until smooth and creamy.

5. Place back on the heat, and bring to a boil again. Add spices, herbs and agave syrup, to taste.

6. Serve hot, topped with whatever you like!

2015-10-20 19.04.21 2015-10-20 19.06.56

I had a large pumpkin and a smaller one, but the large pumpkin was kind of soggy on one side, so I only used one half, and said smaller pumpkin. All that to explain why there are lighter and darker yellow pumpkin pieces.

2015-10-20 19.21.46

I love this brand of coconut milk for cooking – it doesn’t work well for making whipped coconut cream at all, though, as it doesn’t separate.

2015-10-20 19.27.33

After puréeing the soup, this beautiful yellow color really lit up the room…I love it when food turns out this pretty!

2015-10-20 19.34.41

…and, like I said, I went pretty crazy with my toppings. It turned this super spicy squash soup into a mexican bowl of spices and hotness – crunchy due to the tortilla chips and fresh green onion, protein-packed and filling due to the white bean croutons (which are the bomb on about EVERYTHING), and you even got that “sour-cream-effect” going with unsweetened, all-natural sheep’s milk yogurt in the middle. What more do you want, I ask?

2015-10-20 19.19.31

By the way, I get the sheep’s milk yogurt from either the German supermarket “Edeka” or “Kaufland” or “Rewe”, for those of you living in Germany.

Leave a Reply

