2 Ridiculously Decadent PMS Snacks You Won’t Believe Are Vegan

Every month, women go a little crazy. We know it, the men know it, pretty much anyone in our presence will get to know it. During this time, it’s best to simply go with whatever we say, and, if in doubt, present us with presents or chocolate or flowers, or all of the above. During this time, it’s also best to NOT ignore your own sweet-tooth-needs, dear friends, as I know from my own experience that it won’t end well. I am not sure what it is, but if Aunt Irma is visiting me (that’s an “IT Crowd” reference, for those who of you who haven’t read this post) , I better not deny myself the chocolate I want, or else my mood directly plunges, or I go on the craziest chocolate binge shortly after, which results in my mood being downright deadly.

Which is why, my ladies, I have the two most ridiculously decadent PMS snacks for you, that are a) vegan and b) not quite as unhealthy as any bought remedy you may have sought after before. These two snacks are far from being easy on the hips, but, you know, you’re probably wearing your comfy pants already and have most likely abandoned the push-up bra, so who the heck cares!?

1. Vegan Banana Coconut Split with Chocolate-Whiskey-Sauce

Yes, you heard right. Chocolate-Whiskey-Sauce it is, and it’s downright heavenly. And, it totally rectifies you eating heaps and heaps to get drunk. Definitely. No doubt about it.

2015-10-05 19.49.04

This beautiful plate is made up of

  • 1 ripe and sweet banana
  • a handful of pecans
  • 1 Tbs. coconut chips
  • a drizzle of chocolate whiskey sauce

and lots of love, obviously. To make the chocolate whiskey sauce, see the recipe below:

Chocolate Whiskey Sauce

  • Servings: 1 cup
  • Time: 5 min.
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup dates, pitted
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. cacao
  • 1-2 Tbs. whiskey
  • water

Procedure:

1. Blend all the ingredients together in a food processor, adding as much water as need to achieve desired consistency.

2. Store in the fridge until use.

Note: Will keep for a month.

The banana in this vegan banana split really should be quite ripe, otherwise, if your sweet tooth is really really bad, you may need to add some maple syrup on top. But, you know, that’s your own personal decision.

The second snack I have for you is even more insane. I would never ever EVER under normal circumstances crave this sort of thing, but, as we all know, your mind goes crazy with sugar cravings sometimes:

2. Whipped Coconut Cream Chocolate Sandwich

So, yes, I topped a 25g bar of dark 75% chocolate with whipped cream, and added pecans on top. Before you judge me, have a look at the pictures. And then run to the kitchen to make it. Then eat it. Then return to judging, if you still feel the need to.

2015-10-20 13.54.45

The whipped coconut cream was quite sweet in my case, which was balanced out perfectly by the bitter chocolate and the caramel-like pecans. It was the perfect snack for that day, and I must say that I felt fully satisfied afterwards. Not once did I think that I wanted seconds, and I enjoyed every single bite.

2015-10-20 13.57.06

Which is what I’d like to leave you with today – whether you are PMSing or have a girlfriend/wife/partner that is – if you do crave something ridiculously decadent, don’t worry too much about it. Ask yourself if you are really craving it or if you’re feeding emotional hunger, and, if the latter isn’t true, listen to your body’s needs. I have been riding that train for a while now, and I can’t say that I have overeaten or undereaten for a while.

For once in my life, I feel balanced – including decadent snacks like this. I wish you the same – PMS or not.

Leave a Reply

