Raw Mango Chocolate Cookies

Last Saturday, my boyfriend and I were at a ball, organized by one of our friends with whom we used to take dancing lessons. We had a wonderful night, and I for one love dressing up and pretending to be a star for just one night! There is something seriously “grown up” about ballroom dancing, in my opinion, and I love being twirled around by my boyfriend (who happens to be a phenomenal dancer). Since our friend is the one who organizes this ball, we help clean up afterwards, which means that last Saturday I was up until 6 am. I feel almost proud! 🙂

Anyways, the next day, I was pretty out of it, logically. I was craving cake for breakfast (which we had at 2 pm on Sunday), and couldn’t decide whether going back to bed or ironing the laundry pile sounded more appealing (just kidding!). I opted for neither of the two, and made raw cookies instead.

Before I share the recipe for the insanely delicious raw chocolate tahini cookies which have chewy bits of dried mango and dark chocolate chips mixed in, I thought I’d show you my outfit for the dance on Saturday. I wore a white flary dress, which I loved, especially since nobody else wore a white dress, and so I felt extra special!

2015-10-24 18.28.25 (2)

Yup, there was a red carpet. Yup, I was a superstar last weekend. 🙂

Anyways, back to the cookies. For some reason I was craving raw cookies instead of baked ones, eventhough it’s been pretty cold outside. Maybe it’s because raw cookies just tend to be more chewy than baked cookies and I was craving cake? Whatever the reason, I wanted raw cookies, and I feel like I did a pretty good job making them. These vegan, glutenfree, nutfree cookies are a perfect mix of sweet and tangy due to the mango, and have that comforting taste only chocolate and a mild seed/nutbutter like tahini can produce.

2015-10-25 16.14.09

I am still on my tahini-roll (see my Autumn Oatmeal Bowl or the Green Mango Tahini Smoothie I posted on Monday), and I somehow doubt it’ll stop anytime soon. Tahini is the way to go, people! I especially love that it’s not as pricey as, say, almond butter, and it’s slightly bitter taste make any sweet or savory treat milder. And more creamy and comforting, like I said.

2015-10-25 16.15.11

Whether or not you add dried mango or cranberries/raisins/gojiberries or leave the dried fruit out altogether, it really doesn’t matter. The “dough” tastes perfect on its own, too, so don’t fret it if you don’t have the add-ins. You could add some nuts, if you’re not allergic, or toast some sesame seeds to add if you’re not concerned about the cookies being raw and want a fun extra crunch.

Raw Mango Chocolate Cookies

  • Servings: 8
  • Time: 10 min. + 1 hour
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup + 2 heaped Tbs. oats
  • 6 dates
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. cocoa
  • 1 Tbs. maple syrup
  • 4 Tbs. hemp milk (or other plantmilk)
  • 1/6 cup chopped dried mango
  • 1/6 cup chocolate chips
  • a drizzle of salt
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla, ground

Procedure:

1. Place 1 cup of oats in a food processor and grind into a flour. Add the dates, tahini, cocoa, salt and vanilla, and process until well-combined. It will still be very crumbly.

2. Add the maple syrup and hemp milk, and process until a smooth dough forms.

3. Chop the mango into small bits, and soak in warm water for 1 minute. Drain, and add to the dough, along with the chocolate chips and the 2 Tbs. of oats.

4. Knead into a dough, then roll into balls and press down lightly to form cookies.

5. Place the cookies in the fridge for at least 1 hour, until firm. Enjoy straight from the freezer!

2015-10-25 15.02.54 2015-10-25 15.07.182015-10-25 15.12.432015-10-25 15.15.02

I am sure cacao nibs would also go well in these cookies, if you’re looking to elminiate the chocolate chips. I recently found these chocolate chips at Edeka, and they are vegan, which I appreciate. More on the chocolate chips and other new products I have tested lately is coming up in a new product-review-post!

2015-10-25 15.15.26 2015-10-25 15.16.40

If you’d like to add an even more exotic taste to these cookies, switch out the 2 Tbs. of oats for 2 Tbs. of coconut flour or shredded coconut!

2015-10-25 15.20.59

You could always roll these into normal blissballs/energy bites. But I much preferred them as cookies last week, as I feel like I take my time enjoying a cookie, while I usually gulp down the energy bites when I’m on the run.

2015-10-25 16.15.02

I enjoyed these with a steaming cup of tea on the side, and I loved how cold they were in comparison to the hot HOT tea. I am sure these won’t last long, as I had no problem eating three of these on the side, after having licked clean the bowl as I was making them already! The batch is fairly small, which is mostly because my boyfriend’s no fan of raw goodies, but it also keeps my snacking monster in check. 2015-10-25 16.14.44

It’s almost the weekend, which I am looking forward to so much, as I’ll be off from school for one week! I’m looking forward to a bit of recipe testing for Christmas treats and dishes…

Leave a Reply

