Orange Raspberry Smoothie

Yesterday morning, I woke up with intense back pain. It actually felt like somebody was stabbing me behing my right shoulder blade…and, after about 20 minutes, I realized I wasn’t just sore, there was actually something quite wrong. I called the orthopedist immediately, and, luckily, was able to see the doctor within the hour. Sadly, despite an injection, I have been in pain ever since, causing me to stop all plans and just lay in bed all day yesterday.

Funny how sometimes your body forces you to stop, like seriously stop, and focus on relaxing. I must say it’s not nice at all to have your back thrown out, but I haven’t been able to slow down or allow my mind to be quiet for one minute since my holidays started…and then, yesterday, after taking a hot bath, I realized it was my body forcing my mind to take a breather.

I am extremely prone to getting the flu or some sort of physical problem once I’m in over my head…and usually, it happens during holidays. In fact, the first few terms at university, I would take my last exam before the break, and be in bed sick the day after. And not just with a sniffle, it was usually full-on lay-in-bed-for-a-week sick. It became a (not so fun) pattern, but it always had the same effect: I had to slow down.

I am not sure why it’s so difficult for me to simply do nothing, relax, allow the world to pass me by for a few days. I think it’s because I always feel like I am not allowed, like it’s somehow “wrong” or “bad” if I’m not active. And I don’t mean that in the sports-sense only, but generally, I have a hard time accepting time off from work. Sounds ridiculous, I’m sure, but I am happier if I’m super busy (and complaining about it) than if I know I have a week ahead with nothing, or very little, to do. Neither was the case at the beginning of this week, I have quite a few things to prepare for next week, but I am missing my structured day.

Structure is what gives me a sense of control – and I’m guessing that’s one of the left-overs from my eating disorder, in combination with myself being extremely perfectionist. Give me a to-do list and my heart starts to sing, let me clean your apartment on a day off and I am actually excited to do it…simply because then I know what my “purpose” is, what I’m “good for”. It could definitely be worse, I know, but it means I never ever slow down mentally or emotionally unless I am forced to…phsyically.

Which brings me to today’s smoothie recipe. Well, it doesn’t really, but frankly, I am not sure how to go from philosophically discussing my back pains to the delicious summery orange raspberry smoothie I made, so I’m just gonna jump into it.

2015-11-03 09.02.12

This smoothie is made with sheep’s milk yogurt, which I love, and it’s slightly sour due to the orange and raspberries…but all that’s evened out by a few dates, so don’t worry, if you want this sweeter, simply add more dates. This smoothie totally reminded me of summer, which went hand in hand with this week’s surprisingly sunny fall weather.

Orange Raspberry Smoothie

  • Servings: 2 small, or 1 large
  • Time: 3 min.
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 oranges
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1 cup sheep’s milk yogurt (or sub soymilk yogurt for vegan version)
  • 2-3 dates
  • 1 tsp. baobab powder (optional)
  • 5 icecubes
  • 1 cup water

Procedure:

1. Blend all the ingredients into a smoothie, using your blender.

2. Keeps in the fridge for one day.

I am particularly proud of this smoothie as it’s banana-free, which I always feel is some sort of accomplishment concerning smoothies. 🙂 Perhaps that’s because my sister doesn’t like bananas, so whenever I manage to make a smoothie without bananas that tastes good, I feel like I’ve proven myself to her.

2015-11-03 08.51.24#

What I love about fall/winter is that citric fruit starts to taste really good again…so get ready for a flood of orange/tangerine recipes!

2015-11-03 08.54.49

This recipe makes two servings, which my boyfriend and I enjoyed as a “side” to our breakfast. If you want, you can make one large serving and perhaps add a bit of neutral protein powder, oats or flax/chia to make it more filling. The protein is already quite high due to the sheep’s milk yogurt, though.

2015-11-03 09.02.29

I love the pink color of this smoothie! Why is it that anything pink makes us girls feel like we’re back in our childhood (at least that’s what it feels like to me…pink is really a girly color)?

2015-11-03 09.02.56

As you can see, they even turned out lightly frothy, which is something I adore in smoothies. So, if you’re missing summer and are looking for a light smoothie to accompany a larger breakfast, this is definitely the smoothie to turn to!

Leave a Reply

