Peanutbutter Cup Zucchini Oatmeal Bowl

Good Morning, friends! It’s the start of a new week, and I heading back into “normal” life after a week off from school. I am actually excited and kind of glad, even if that may seem strange to you…but, what can I say, I love having a routine, and having a structured day. It’s what I was craving throughout the time I was at university, actually. Having a new schedule every term, and not following a certain time frame daily (9-5) definitely has its perks, but, especially towards the end, I was so looking forward to going to work right after I wake up, actually having to leave the apartment/house to do so, and then coming back after work is “done”.

Then I became a teacher and realized work is never done, but, you know, I still get to leave the house and come back. It’s all about seeing the positive in life, I swear. 🙂 Which brings me back to this beautiful new week, and the right breakfast to accompany a perhaps gloomy Monday.

During the holidays, my boyfriend and I slept in most mornings (well, he slept in and I got up and waited around for him to wake up so we could have breakfast…I am a morning person, he definitely isn’t). So we had breakfast pretty late most mornings, and now that school is back on, I have to get used to eating breakfast early again…which shouldn’t be a problem, because, as I mentioned, I’m a morning person. In fact, I have gotten used to doing yoga almost every morning after I wake up, which I am not only proud of, but so thankful to have discovered how good it is. It really helps to get those juices flowing!

Anyways, back to breakfast. As autumn is hitting us full force, temperatures are bound to drop quite low soon (even if we’ve had a beautifully mild and sunny fall week here in Germany). There are few things I like more in winter than a nice hot steamy bowl of oatmeal…I just find it so satisfying, comforting, and delicious. And, depending on how you make it, it’s also extremely healthy!

2015-11-06 10.19.04

My newest discovery is kind of old in the food blog world: adding grated zucchini to my oatmeal. I usually add grated apple, as I did in my Autumn Oatmeal Bowl, as it also adds a light sweetness which I like (I don’t usually add sugar or sweetener to my oatmeal, I don’t need it). But zucchini works very well in this particular oatmeal bowl, as it is completely neutral in taste and therefore doesn’t cover up the chocolatey taste, and still adds enough bulk to make it nice and thick. If you’re completely baffled about adding zucchini to your oatmeal, I encourage you to try it once and see whether you like it…and if not, you know, no biggie.

2015-11-06 10.20.28

Peanutbutter Cup Zucchini Oatmeal Bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 cup grated zucchini
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 cup oat milk (or other plant milk)
  • 1 tsp. peanutbutter
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. carob powder (or cacao + sweetener)
  • a few drops vanilla extract

toppings:

Procedure:

1. Heat all the ingredients in a pot, stirring frequently.

2. Allow to simmer for 5 minutes, until thick and creamy.

3. Serve hot and topped with favorite toppings.

Of course, the toppings can vary, but I suggest trying my peanutbutter granola clusters on top, as I feel they are truly perfect. Or, you know, make my peanutbutter cup bliss balls  or my peanutbutter cup freezer fudge and let them melt on top…mmmmmhhh.

2015-11-06 10.04.05

I recently tested the “oatly” oatmilk, but I must say I prefer the “Smelk” brand, as it is slightly more creamy and works well in my coffee.

2015-11-06 10.06.06 2015-11-06 10.10.23

The banana adds a light sweetness to the oatmeal, as does the carob, but if you prefer this to be sweeter, don’t shy away from adding extra maple syrup to the oatmeal.

2015-11-06 10.16.27

I topped my bowl with extra banana, granola and cranberries, but I debated sprinkling some chocolate chips on top, or even crumble a peanutbutter crunchy clif bar over the lot? An apple would would also go well, I think. Lots of options!

2015-11-06 10.18.49 2015-11-06 10.22.50

Of course, you can enjoy the oatmeal as is, without the toppings…but, if we’re being honest, toppings just make everything more fun, right!?

2015-11-06 10.20.09

Enjoy the beginning of this new week, and don’t let Monday pull you down! Try something new this week, like adding zucchini to your oatmeal, or smiling when you’re actually in a bad mood. You might be surprised!

4 thoughts on “Peanutbutter Cup Zucchini Oatmeal Bowl

  1. Such a great idea! I should really try this soon . . . since winter is around the corner. Thank you for sharing great recipes ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

