How to BBQ veggie-style (and not feel deprived)

The weather in Germany has been crazy warm and mild, considering it’s November. In fact, last week my boyfriend and I were invited to a barbecue, and I was very doubtful of it being outside beforehand. It turned out to feel like a mild summer night, with around 20°C in the evening! In November!? How weird. But not at all unwelcome, if you ask me…I’m not big on the winter months anyways. Could be because I spent my childhood sweating in a 40°C environment, but I could care less about winter and snow. Especially driving (and digging up your car beforehand) doesn’t sound too appealing to me, and luckily I haven’t had to actually deal with heaps of snow in a long time (we rarely get icy winters at home). But this year, I’ve been warned that I’m going to experience a “Siberian winter”…so 20°C-November, please just stick around as long as possible!

Coming back to said barbecue…I had been at home for a whole week, and my lovely boyfriend cooked for a LOT, which I love. He is truly an awesome cook, and I always feel super cherished when he makes me yummy dinners. But, it also means that we eat a whole lot of meat if he cooks…as I’m usually responsible for the veggie-dinners. 🙂 By the time we were invited to the barbecue, I was really over eating meat. Like, way over. I could for the life of me not imagine eating another steak, or piece of bacon, or anything. As the friend who invited us is a guy, and a guy’s guy at that, I wisely prepared something to take along for myself…

And I was right, there were no veggies whatsoever at the barbecue. The meat looked and smelled perfect, but I wasn’t even tempted. I was just super glad I had prepared this wonderful package:

2015-11-07 19.21.58

A mix of veggies, feta cheese, fresh herbs and chili, I simply packed it all up and placed it in the smoker for 30 minutes. The flavors became so super intense that I would have loved to stick my face in there…seriously. There is no better way to go to a barbecue without eating meat than with a veggie-feta-package. Add some potatoes and you’ve got yourself a gluten-free dinner that won’t disappoint.

BBQ Feta Veggie Package

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 10 min. + 30 min.
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 4 small precooked potatoes
  • 1/2 feta (100g)
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 chili, sliced (optional)
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, sliced
  • 1 small piece of zucchini, diced
  • 6 cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp. coarse sea salt
  • freshly ground pepper
  • a fresh rosemary twig or dried rosemary
  • 3 tsp. olive oil

Procedure:

1. Stack all the ingredients on top of two layers of criss-crossed tin foil.

2. Drizzle with the olive oil, then pack the tin foil tightly.

3. Place in a smoker/on a grill/in the oven for 30 minutes. Enjoy immediately!

2015-11-07 17.20.59

Of course, you can vary the veggies to your liking…I wanted to add olives as well, originally, but forgot to. Oh, and I am sure adding some pumpkin seeds would add a fun crunch!

2015-11-07 17.23.33 2015-11-07 17.27.28

If you want this to be low carb, feel free to leave out the potatoes…or use a bread to dip up the “sauce” that will be at the bottom. The only thing you absolutely shouldn’t skip is fresh garlic and fresh onions, as they really give this baby flavor.

2015-11-07 17.29.42

Wrap it up tight, and make sure to add an extra layer of tin foil if you feel like it’s not wrapped tightly enough. You don’t want this package to leak!

2015-11-07 19.22.01

And then, after 30 short minutes, feel free to dig in! Opening it is actually almost as good as eating it, as all the flavors will be picked up by your nose before you dig in. 🙂 BBQing veggie-style made easy for you…so if you’re also “suffering” from a warmer fall, go ahead and get that grill out and try this lovely, easy-peasy recipe.

Leave a Reply

