Easy School Lunch: Veggie Quinoa Toss

So my biggest problem at the moment is the fact that I am constantly reminded of the fact that I am not perfect. I know, it’s a little insane and irrational, but I feel like the longer this whole teacher-training-thing is going on, the more right I have to be insane and irrational. I am starting to get worked up over the tiniest mistakes – not because they are tiny, but because I am not a person who makes mistakes. Ever.

Especially not mistakes involving typos, or forgetting to change the date on a document I have to hand-in (and, before you get onto me about the typos, this blog is completely different! It’s not “work”). Anyways, I feel like I am losing control a little, which is one of the most important things for me. And, when I feel like I’m losing control in real-life, my peace of mind usually gets lost with it. So that’s where things are at right now.

More positively, though, I have a new recipe for you guys, and a very simple, delicious, and perfect one at that. That’s what I love about food: it’s so easy to satisfy my perfectionist ambitions when it comes to cooking and baking. Sometimes it may take me a few tries, but most of the time, I manage to create something that’s yummy (in my opinion), and that gives me instant gratification.

I always take a packed lunch to school on days that I know I won’t be home before 2pm, as my allergies force me to stay away from the cantine or nearby bakery. It’s alright, as I save a bunch of money by doing so, and am constantly forced to eat healthy. Of course, sometimes I would prefer a freshly baked baguette layered with ham and cheese, but I also know that if I ate one I would feel terrible the rest of the day. Those of you following my instagram account know how badly I react to wheat, eventhough I keep trying it again and again.

So, since I take a packed lunch, and I get tired of only taking ryebread, I came up with a quick quinoa toss, prepared just as easily as a sandwich, and equally as satisfying (if not more). Whether you make it with quinoa, millet, couscous, buckwheat or whichever grain you prefer, it will taste just swell.

2015-11-11 07.03.11

What I love about this salad is that it’s super versatile concerning the veggies you use as well. In the picture, I used tomatoes, cucumbers, and yellow onion, and topped it off with a banana – but I was told that that’s extremely strange. I actually like adding bananas to savory dishes, perhaps because that’s what they did in Tanzania a lot, but you know, it’s not like you need to do so.

2015-11-11 07.15.14

Veggie Quinoa Toss

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 10 min. + prep time
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1-2 diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 diced yellow onion (or green onion)
  • 1 piece of cucumber
  • 1 tsp. chopped parsley
  • a dash of salt and pepper
  • 1-2 tsp. lime vinegar (or balsamic vinegar and lemon juice)

Procedure:

  1. Mix the quinoa with the veggies.
  2. Pour over the vinegar, and sesason to taste.
  3. Tastes best if allowed to soak up all the flavors overnight!

2015-11-11 06.56.20

Like I said, green onion would work great as well, and if you want to make this with a mexican spin, feel free to add corn and beans, as well as pepper. You can make this every day of the week, and still change it up. Perfect, right?

2015-11-11 06.59.04

I squeezed some fresh lemon juice over mine, and loved it, but if you’re not into a citric taste, skip it and only add vinegar. I should also mention that I make my quinoa with some herbal salt and vegan margarine or butter stirred in – so if you haven’t salted your quinoa, make sure to add a healthy dose of salt and some olive oil to the toss as well.

2015-11-11 07.04.44

I packed a few dates as dessert, and this lunch was hands-down my favorite the first week that I made it. It seemed a little strange to a few of my colleagues that I had added banana, but I personally loved the combination. Maybe I’m just weird. 🙂

Leave a Reply

