Chocolate Hazelnut Banana Bread Cake

The title of today’s post is too long. I know this, but I honestly didn’t know how to shorten it anymore. Originally, I thought about naming this cake:

Chocolate Hazelnut Banana Bread Raspberry Coconut Cake.

But that would’ve definitely been too long. The title now is my compromise. If you have a better, idea, let me know in the comments, and I may change it.

I have baked this recipe twice, and changed a few things the second time I made it, as the first cake was much too moist and crumbly. It tasted awesome, but the texture was off, and I so I figured I’d try again. On the upside, the second version turned out so well that even my colleagues at school said it tastes very good (“…for a healthy cake” :)). On the downside, it’s no longer gluten-free. I will continue working on the gluten-free version, and perhaps I’ll find the magic solution to the crumble-problem. In the meantime, all those of you who don’t mind a little gluten in the form of 1 1/2 cups of spelt flour can have your cake and eat it, too.

2015-11-24 07.04.46

The base is made from a simple mix of hazelnut meal, spelt flour and oats, mixed with ripe bananas, maple syrup and cocoa. Top it off with some whipped chocolate coconut cream, sprinkle coconut chips and frozen raspberries on top, and you’ve got yourself an impressive-looking dessert!

Chocolate Hazelnut Banana Bread Cake

  • Servings: 1 cake
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups hazelnut meal (200g)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 1/2 cups spelt flour
  • 1 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup

for the whipped chocolate coconut cream:

see this recipe

toppings:

  • 1-2 Tbs. coconut chips
  • 1/4 cup frozen raspberries

Procedure:

  1. Preheat the oven to 175°C (350°F). Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. In a food processor, mix the wet ingredients until smooth. Add to the bowl with the dry ingredients and whisk together.
  3. Line a round baking form with coconut oil, and then sprinkle a bit of flour on top to make sure the dough doesn’t stick to the form too tightly.
  4. Spread the dough into the baking form. Bake for 20-30 minutes, until a sharp knife comes out clean.
  5. Allow to cool down. Then cover with the whipped chocolate coconut cream, coconut chips and raspberries.
  6. Keep refrigerat until serving. Serve with some more whipped coconut cream, if desired.

To make this recipe vegan, I would use one more banana and a chia egg, but I have yet to try this, so there’s no guarantee that it’d work well. I’ll let you know after I experiment some more. 🙂

You could bake this in a rectangular baking form as well, but I didn’t have one on hand at my apartment in my working town, so I used the round one. It made for quite a flat cake, but that’s perfect, as my oven here doesn’t work too well.

Make sure you smooth out the top before baking, so that you will have a nice crust on top, as seen in the right picture.

2015-11-23 20.29.22

You could enjoy this without the whipped coconut cream topping, but then again, why not go for the more decadent version?

2015-11-23 22.47.16

I LOVE coconut whipped cream.

2015-11-24 07.04.31

…and, of course, coconut was needed to complete this beautiful cake. By the time I served it, the frozen raspberries had thawed quite a bit, but that made them all the more juicy, which was perfect with the crunchy coconut chips, in my opinion.

2015-11-24 07.04.55

Of course, you can change up the toppings: add some toasted hazelnuts for even more “nutella” effect, or add a white chocolate drizzle, or a coconut butter drizzle…as always, the options are endless. Let me know which version you make!

Leave a Reply

