Bircher Muesli Overnight Oats

The other day, the unspeakable happened. I can’t even believe I’m admitting it. But it did happen.

I ran out of bananas.

Yes, I admit it. I didn’t want to go to the grocery store to only pick up bananas, but not having ANY is something that rarely happens in my kitchen. For me, “a banana a day keeps the doctor away” is the adapted mantra.

So, what to do if  don’t have any, but still want to make overnight oats?

Simple. You adapt a widely known favorite that doesn’t call for banana: bircher muesli overnight oats! I really can’t believe I haven’t thought of making a recipe like this before, because seriously, after my bircher oatmeal bowl in November 2014, one could’ve thought I had gotten the hang of making bircher muesli.

But, eventhough it has taken me this long, and eventhough it’s extremely weird I’m still loving overnight oats while it’s getting extremely cold outside, here it finally is: Bircher Muesli Overnight Oats.

2015-11-16 06.37.28

This is one overnight oats recipe that doesn’t call for a fresh fruit topping, in my opinion. Perhaps because there’s already an entire grated apple in there.

Bircher Muesli Overnight Oats

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 10 min. + overnight
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbs. chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 tsp. bee pollen
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 Tbs. chopped walnuts
  • 1/8 cup raisins (or cranberries)
  • 1 grated apple
  • 1 heaped tsp. sunbutter
  • 1 cup oat milk

Procedure:

1. In a jar or an airtight container, mix all the dry ingredients thoroughly.

2. Add the grated apple, sunbutter and oat milk, and mix until well-combined.

3. Place in the fridge overnight, and enjoy the next morning.

2015-11-15 21.12.32

As always, the different components can be exchanged for others…think shaved almonds instead of walnuts, or cranberries instead of raisins, or spelt oats instead of “normal” oats. If you don’t have any bee pollen, feel free to leave them out, but I like the crunch and “honey” flavor they add.

2015-11-15 21.20.04

If you suffer from a nut allergy, add pumpkin seeds instead of the walnuts. That way this will be nutfree!

It will seem quite runny the night before, but trust me, it will firm enough to be creamy the next morning.

2015-11-16 06.37.41

It may look like much in the pictures, but trust me, this bircher muesli overnight oatmeal is the real deal. And that’s not even exaggeration, because bircher muesli is ALWAYS prepared the night before if you want to do it right. Usually with yogurt, though, so this vegan version is perfect for anyone avoiding dairy.

2015-11-16 06.48.03

Let me know if you make this or any other of my recipes! I’d love to hear your opinion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

