Green Spinach Avocado Salad

I have been sitting in front of my empty screen for about 15 minutes because I feel like my brain is asleep and has no amazing insight in my life to share. I am, honestly, simply pretty tired. The past weeks have been continuously kicking my butt, which is fine, because somehow I am still managing, but to say that I’m looking forward to the Christmas break is an understatement.

Planning and being organized is seriously the only thing keeping my head above the water these days. I am so glad I am a good planner, and am able to kick my butt to do the work I need to do almost always, as otherwise the work would be piling up in no time! Planning well includes meal prepping for me, as I’ve told you in this post before.

I am loving getting in at least one salad with a load of greens these days, which is something I feel like I didn’t keep up with for a while. The reason for that is mostly that when it’s cold, I find it hard to motivate myself to get excited about a bowl of salad. But, I have found the perfect solution: Add a warm, roasted or sautéed or steamed component to the “cold” salad, and you have all the comfort of a warm dish and all the health of a big salad in one. No-brainer, really, but it took me a while. Which shows you just how little capacity I seem to have left in my brain for anything but work.

Before I throw myself a pity party, let me tell you more about the salad I promised you in my title: This green spinach avocado salad contains spinach and avocado (who would’ve thought!) and roasted baby potatoes, as well as some steamed rosmary and thyme peas. Toss it in a mustard-maple vinaigrette, and you won’t feel deprived when eating a “salad” only. 🙂

2015-11-23 20.10.20

As you can see, I also added two boiled eggs, for some extra protein and also, I was feeling like eggs. For a vegan version of the salad, either leave out the eggs, or add extra avocado, or add some tofu cubes. Or banana, if you’re weird like me and feel like putting banana in every dish.

Green Spinach Avocado Salad

  • Servings: 1
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup packed with fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup peas, steamed with rosmary and thyme
  • 5-6 small potatoes
  • 1 tsp. tomato-infused oil (from dried tomatoes in oil)
  • 1/2 tsp. coarse sea salt
  • 1 tsp. dried rosmary
  • 1/2 cup sliced cucumber
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 2 hard-boiled eggs

for the dressing:

  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 2 Tbs. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp. dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp. maple syrup
  • 1-2 Tbs. chopped green onion

Procedure:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C. In a bowl, toss the diced potatoes in the tomato-infused oil, coarse sea salt and dried rosemary. Spread on a baking tin lined with a baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes.
  2. Mix together the ingredients for the dressing until well-combined.
  3. Wash the spinach, and then place in a big bowl along with the peas, cucumber and avocado. Add the dressing and toss.
  4. Spread the baked potatoes on top and add theI eggs, if using.
  5. Enjoy sprinkled with some freshly ground pepper!

If you don’t have any maple syrup and aren’t concernd with the dressing being vegan, you could sub it for honey.

I already love how green and healthy this looks…spinach is wonderful!

2015-11-23 20.10.28

This salad definitely counts as a huge serving! You don’t need to worry that it won’t fill you up, as you can see there’s a heap of potatoes in there.

2015-11-23 20.06.35

Alright, that’s it, I really don’t have any more “talk” in me tonight. If you try making this salad, let me know how you liked it! I am definitely having this bowl of green goodness again, soon, that’s for sure!

3 thoughts on “Green Spinach Avocado Salad

Leave a Reply

