Crunchy Raspberry Peanutbutter Cup Clouds

I just spent an hour trying to reach an office that would be able to explain to me why my doctor’s bills haven’t been covered by my insurance. Once I reached the office, I was informed very bluntly that I was missing one document. After I asked just one question about what that document should look like, I was treated like a stupid person, but you know what, I really can’t feel stupid after having to deal with all the crazy German bureaucracy paperwork stuff. How am I supposed to know what I should send where if there’s a million documents with words on them that I don’t understand?

I do feel a little stupid.

But, I won’t let it ruin this wonderfully sunny day. I kind of can’t believe that it’s been four days since Christmas, but I time flies when you’re having fun…or when you have a lot of lunches, teatimes and dinners with family. I really did enjoy the time with my own and my boyfriend’s family, but, as is the case every year, I am always glad to have some alone-time afterwards. I am definitely not one of those people who gets their energy from being in huge crowds of people.

I am loving being back in my own kitchen, having my boyfriend around, and being able to sleep in every morning. Already I feel more relaxed than I have in the past half year, and I am so thankful for the time I have to cook and bake again.

Which brings me directly to today’s treat. I couldn’t really think of a better way to describe my creation, which was a complete spur-of-the-moment, spontaneous recipe. I was making some chocolate covered cornflakes to give to my dad for Christmas, when I realized I could make a snickers-peanutbutter-cup-coconut-cream-muffin-crunchy-sort-of-thing. The result is quite beautiful, and the taste (after you thaw it, as they should be stored in the freezer) is heavenly:

2015-12-25 15.13.58

There is such an amazing variety of textures in these, I can’t really tell you if they are creamy, crunchy, gooey, sour, sweet, caramel-ly, chocolate-y or all of the above. They are super easy to make, are no-bake goodies and contain no refined sugar whatsoever. And they are wheat-free, dairy-free and vegan. And they taste GOOD. Amazing, right? 2015-12-25 15.15.14

If you want to, you can grate some chocolate on top for a fancy sprinkle, but that’s completely optional. I think the more important question is who would like to make such an indulgent dessert after three days of feasting with your family? Well, I have an idea: How about making these for New Year’s Eve? Everybody’s always making resolutions to eat more healthily in the New Year, anyways, so why not go out with a bang, or rather, start eating healthy (desserts) on New Year’s Eve? These are sure to get you on the right track, as they taste amazingly sinful but are made from all-natural, “clean” ingredients.

Crunchy Raspberry Peanutbutter Cup Clouds

  • Servings: 6
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup spelt flakes
  • 100g 72% dark chocolate
  • 10 dates
  • 1 Tbs. peanutbutter
  • 1 Tbs. water
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • about 1 cup whipped coconut cream

Procedure:

  1. Melt the chocolate in a water bath, then mix with the spelt flakes.
  2. Place 1 Tbs. of the spelt flake chocolate mix in one cupcake mould each. Place in the freezer for 10 minutes.
  3. During this time, blend together the dates, peanutbutter and water to make a creamy peanutbutter caramel.
  4. Put a heaped teaspoon full of the caramel on top of the chocolate-spelt-flake layer and place back in the freezer for 30 minutes.
  5. Place about 3 rapsberries on top of each tart, then cover with 1 Tbs. of whipped coconut cream.
  6. Optionally sprinkle with grated chocolate.
  7. Place back in the freezer for another 30 minutes. To serve, take out of the freezer and allow to thaw for 15 minutes, so that the chococlate hasn’t molten but the whipped cream is fluffy.

This recipe is super easy to make as you’re preparing other things in the kitchen, as most of the “work” and time is done by the freezer. They will keep quite long if you store them in the freezer, so if you feel like making them but aren’t ready to indulge, know that they will be there for you once you are nursing your sweet tooth again.

2015-12-24 14.35.14

If you’d like to use cornflakes instead of spelt flakes, feel free to do so, but make sure you get unsweetened cornflakes (which are very difficult to find!).

2015-12-24 14.36.10 2015-12-24 14.37.24

You could enjoy the chocolate covered flakes by themselves after they have cooled down, in which case these would be done within 20 minutes. If you are craving a quick, crunchy chocolate snack, that’s what I’d suggest.

2015-12-24 14.39.12

2015-12-24 14.54.58 2015-12-24 14.57.17

The peanut-caramel is heavenly, I might make it again to spread on some of my wheat-free toast that I made yesterday after the longest time…

2015-12-25 15.10.45

If you don’t want a fruity layer in your cloudy crunchies, simply leave them out or add a banana layer instead for a creamier experience!

2015-12-25 15.13.54

Then top with the whipped coconut cream, and enjoy! I’m thinking of doing something along the lines of my Re-energize series the next few days, would you be interested? I am not feeling overly terrible after the festivities, but I still would like to get back into the habit of drinking more smoothies again and eating more balanced (and I mean that in the best way…I didn’t really eat very well the past two weeks of school, mostly because I wasn’t too comfortable in my body, so fruit for breakfast and salad for dinner it was, which isn’t good for me personally if it gets too restrictive). So, who’s on board?

Leave a Reply

