Green Creamy Apple Pie Smoothie

Drinking smoothies during winter is tougher than when it’s extremely hot outside. In summer, I could probably get by on smoothies alone, but in winter – whether we have 16° C outside or -10° C – I really have to force myself to make green smoothies. Which is truly strange, because once it’s ready, I absolutely love drinking it.

With the new smoothie I came up with, however, no emotional hurdles have to be overcome in order to drink a green smoothie. Trust me, once you’ve had this specific green smoothie, you’ll want to have it every day. Even New Year’s Day.

This smoothie packs greens, a sweet apple, dried figs, sheep’s milk yogurt and coconut water, and you can boost it with barley grass and vanilla protein powder. It tastes like a piece of cake, only liquid…which sounds disgusting, but is actually really REALLY good.

I had some dried apple chips that I got from my mom a while back and munched on some, dipping them into my smoothie…I am so glad that nobody watches me drink/eat my smoothies, I think I may be mistaken for being crazy at times. But, don’t knock it till you’ve tried it…I love dipping apple chips in my Peanutbutter Dessert Shake, too!

What may interest some of you about the smoothie as well is the fact that it contains no banana or avocado. If you sub out the sheep milk yogurt for soy (which I can’t have, as I have been reacting a lot to soy lately), it’s vegan.

2015-12-28 13.09.36

As I know a lot of people, myself included, are typically hungover on the first of January, or at least a tad bit tired from staying up too late, I figure it’s only helpful if I provide you with this recipe the morning before, so that you can start into 2016 with a green smoothie, feeling great about your health and body. 🙂

2015-12-28 13.08.37

Green Creamy Apple Pie Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet apple
  • 3 dried figs
  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • 1 cup coconut water or rice-coconut milk
  • 3 Tbs. sheep’s milk yogurt (or soy yogurt)
  • 1/2 tsp. barley grass powder (optional)
  • 1 Tbs. sweet lupins vanilla protein powder (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp. Christmas spice mix
  • 8 ice cubes

Procedure:

1. Place all the ingredients in a blender, and blend away.

2. Fill into a jar, and garnish with some apple chips.

The Christmas spice mix is made up of cinnamon, allspice, orange peel and vanilla – but I’ll tell you more about that below.

2015-12-28 13.00.06

Fun fact about me: I actually do not like figs. I tried a fresh one my sister had at home the other day, and couldn’t finish it. Something about the texture just doesn’t do it for me. I have never eaten dried figs. When mixed into this smoothie, however, I love them. I admit to being weird.

This makes about 800ml of smoothie, which is a lot, so if you want to separate it into two servings, go ahead. I had a large breakfast when I made it, so this smoothie was lunch, at least kind of. I dipped half of the apple chips package in my smoothie and kind of snacked the rest of the day…that’s holiday eating for you!

2015-12-28 13.06.10

Oh, how I have missed pouring and taking a picture at the same time. Once you got those skills, you never lose them. 🙂

2015-12-28 13.02.10

By the way, I got this spice mix from the pharmacy last week, as a Christmas present with some meds I had to pick up. I absolutely love it in this smoothie, but have no idea how it would taste if baked. If you don’t have it, which you most likely don’t, simply add 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. of vanilla, a sprinkle of allspice and grate some orange peel (organic) into the blender before mixing.

2015-12-28 13.09.24

So, dear friends, I hope you celebrate  ending of 2015 tonight and are able to jump start into 2015! We’ll be starting “Jump Start Week” on January 2nd together…so stay tuned for that! Don’t drink too much, but don’t be too grown-up about celebrating either.

Happy New Year’s!

Leave a Reply

