Introducing Jump Start Week…and Vanilla Roasted Cashews

Happy New Year, everybody! It’s 2016, and if you’re anything like me, you’re laying in bed today asking yourself a few questions.

  1. Why was it so important to drink alcohol yesterday???
  2. Why does my body hate alcohol???
  3. What is going to be different in 2016?

After vowing to myself that I’d never again drink alcohl, I got to thinking about how I wanted to start this year. There are different opinions on how to deal with starting a New Year, and most people can be grouped into two different groups: Those that make irrational, grand resolutions and those that don’t see the point because they are either perfectly content or they have realized that resolutions rarely become reality.

I myself have never been big on resolutions, mostly because I never had anything grand that I wanted to change about my life. I do however believe that it is possible to follow through on resolutions, if only they are specific enough. Because if we’re being honest, isn’t that typically the problem with New Year’s resolutions? We say we want to “drink less”, “excercise more” or “eat better”. But what does that even mean???

There are some things I plan on changing this year. But I am definitely not going to try and fulfill them all within the first week of January, and I am not setting short-term goals. Instead, I want to jump start into this New Year, taking one step at a time, and I’d like to invite you to join me.

Those of you who have been following me for longer might remember my Re-energize Week in July. I posted one challenge a day, provided you with hopefully helpful aspects to think about, and, most importantly, consciously reflected on my life for a week. I would like to do something similar to start this year: Starting tomorrow, January 2nd, I’d like to spend 5 days jump starting the new year.

You’re more welcome to join me; there will be food for thought, food for eating, and definitely some food for the soul…because I truly believe that by remembering what’s important to us, or even just finding out what that is, is what makes for the best resolutions.

If you are in bed or on the sofa today, nursing your hangover, don’t fret. It’ll pass, and for some of us it’s just part of life to go partying. In fact, why not distract yourself by roasting some cashews…either for snacking on throughout the day today or for giving away as New Year’s presents! These are so simple that you’re likely to have all the ingredients at home, and there’s not much work included other than turning on your oven.

These may not fit into the “health regime” you may have planned for 2016, but, just in case you didn’t know, the 1st of January doesn’t count, as that’s still a holiday. Join me on January 2nd, and all be well. 🙂

2015-12-31 14.02.31

 

  • Servings: 3 cups
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 Tbs. honey
  • 1 Tbs. maple syrup
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 cups raw cashews

Procedure:

1. Preheat your oven to 175°C (350°F).

2. In a small pot, melt the coconut oil, honey, maple syrup and 1 Tbs. of the brown sugar. Add the salt and vanilla extract, and whisk until the brown sugar has dissolved.

3. Take the pot off of the heat and stir in the cashews. Mix until all of the cashews are covered.

4. Line a baking tin with baking parchment and spread the coated cashews on it. Place in the oven for 7 minutes.

5. Take out of the oven and stir the cashews around with a spatula. Turn down to 150°C (300°F), and place tin back in the oven for another 5 minutes.

6. Take out of the oven and sprinkle with the remaining 2 Tbs. of brown sugar. Allow to cool.

7. Store in airtight jars.

If you want to make a vegan version, sub out the honey for more maple syrup.

2015-12-31 13.37.54

These are seriously addictive…and make for such cute gifts!

2015-12-31 15.04.04

Enjoy the first day of this year, and get ready for tomorrow! Let’s jump start this year together.

 

 

Leave a Reply

