Green Ants on a Log Smoothie

I had SO MUCH TIME this weekend. I literally didn’t know what I should be doing half of the time, which sounds ridiculous, I know, but I really don’t do “free weekends” anymore. I was almost glad that I had a lesson to prepare on Saturday, but I really felt a little dumbfounded at not knowing what do with myself. That was, until I rediscovered I owned a kindle reader and read an entire book within two days. Yeah, haven’t done that in a while. But it was such a good book, and usually I can’t put a book down until I’ve finished it. It makes starting to read a book extremely dangerous! (In case you’re wondering, I read “Before I go to sleep” by S.J. Watson.)

I also discovered I am a lot more creative in the kitchen when I have the time…who would’ve thought!? 🙂 I made a vegetarian chili at the beginning of this week and needed some celery stalks to do so, but had some left-over. I do like a traditional Ants-on-a-log for a snack once in a while, but didn’t really feel like it yesterday…but I hate it when celery stalks start going soggy, so I wanted to use it up! I therefore “invented” this smoothie, lovingly calling it the Green Ants on a log Smoothie because it has all the components of a traditional ants on a log, but in liquid form.

For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about: Ants on a Log is a cute way of describing a celery stalk smeared with peanutbutter and topped with raisins. It’s an all-American snack and truly yummy! But, like I said, I was feeling more like a smoothie, so I went with it. I didn’t blend the raisins into the smoothie, though, but sprinkled them on top as a topping (shocker). I also used both raisins and cranberries, because, well, I love cranberries.

2016-01-09 17.00.46

There is something extremely refreshing about celery in smoothies, I’m not sure how to describe it…I really dig it, though. I also love my red nailpolish, but had to remove it before school. I have gotten a little bolder as the school year has progressed clothes-wise, but red nailpolish just seems too much.

Green Ants on a Log Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 handful lamb’s lettuce
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 3 dates
  • 1 Tbs. maple syrup
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. peanutbutter
  • 8-10 icecubes
  • 1 cup oat milk
  • 1/2 tsp. barley grass powder (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp. matcha powder (optional)
  • cranberries and raisins, for sprinkling on top

Procedure:

1. Add all the ingredients to your blender, excepting the cranberries and raisins.

2. Blend until smooth and creamy. Add more sweetener, if needed.

3. Serve with cranberries and raisins sprinkled on top.

This smoothie is, again, banana-free, which is something I know some people (like my sister, as I’ve mentioned a million times) are concerned with. I had a two-banana-nicecream topped with a banana for breakfast on Saturday, so I wasn’t feeling like banana in my smoothie in the afternoon.

If you want this smoothie to be more filling, add a Tbs. of flax seeds or chia seeds, or hemp protein. I needed it to be quite sweet on Saturday, so I added some maple syrup, but feel free to omitt that!

2016-01-09 16.58.17

If you don’t have any lamb’s lettuce or don’t like it, feel free to switch it up for baby spinach or any other leafy green. I like spinach in my smoothies, mostly, but the store didn’t have any, and lamb’s lettuce is just as neutral in taste, in my opinion. Plus, it makes for such a pretty mild green color.

2016-01-09 16.59.05

If you want to skip the dried cranberries and raisins, feel free to do so, especially if you plan on drinking this smoothie with a straw. I spooned it out of the glass, so I loved having something to chew on a little. Plus, it makes the Ants on a Log complete.

I’m still keeping up with having one juice or smoothie a day, which is so cool! Granted, this smoothie isn’t exactly light in the fat and calorie sense (1 1/2 Tbs. of peanutbutter…), but it tastes all the better for it. And we all know calories aren’t created equal, right? I have been trying to limit my nut-intake a little, though, mostly because I know I shouldn’t be having too much peanutbutter (yet another intolerance). It’s just so hard when it comes to peanutbutter, though…it’s deliciousness is only increased by quantity.

Anyways, I hope you all have a nice Monday, starting off the week with a smile on your lips, and, even if your weekend wasn’t as slow and kind of boring as mine was, I hope you were able to relax. I have a pretty exciting week ahead, as I’m likely to receive the topic for my first graded lesson…which is a huge deal. I’ll keep you updated on that, though.

Leave a Reply

