Single Serving Toasted Muesli Bowl

What do you do when you have no more baked granola in the house? You have two options. Either you make some, and have to wait 40 minutes until it’s all done, or you can make this 10 minute toasted muesli, needing no oven! I always try to work around using the oven when I’m not at home, as the oven in my apartment in my work town SUCKS. It is seriously the worst oven I have ever had, as it only heats partially and everything I make seems to either end up uncooked or burnt.

I therefore came up with this granola/muesli bowl, which requires a pan for toasting the oats and nuts, and is super crunchy, filling, and delicious! I got some puffed quinoa for Christmas from my mom, and have been dying to try it, but I rarely eat muesli throughout the week for breakfast, so I have been waiting for a weekend day (and for the muesli-mood to strike). Granola and muesli are decisively different things, but I love both. Granola is much better when sprinkled on some smoothie bowl, oatmeal or yogurt, but muesli works well when you are feeling like a tradtional German breakfast. 🙂

Toasting the oats just brings out such a lovely nutty flavor, so I am thinking of never eating raw oats again. Just kidding – but toasted oats are really quite something. I mixed in some ground vanilla and chopped walnuts as I toasted them without any oil in a pan, and they were super lovely. Especially as I added in the rest of my add-ins: mulberries, cacao nibs and chia seeds.

Oh, and then I made chocolate milk to go along with it all. Yes, that is mandatory when making this muesli bowl! Chocolate Banana milk is the only way to go here, especially if you add some frozen raspberries to top off your muesli…the combination could only be made more awesome by some coconut chips, which I didn’t add this time but imagine to be the final touch to this breakfast.

2016-01-10 10.18.09

Single Serving Toasted Muesli Bowl

  • Servings: 1 large or 2 small
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup puffed quinoa
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. chopped walnuts
  • 1 Tbs. dried mulberries
  • 1 Tbs. chia seeds
  • 1 Tbs. cacao nibs
  • 1/2 tsp. ground vanilla
  • 1 banana
  • 8-10 icecubes
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. cacao powder
  • 2 dates
  • 1/2 cup water
  • a few drops vanilla extract
  • banana coins and raspberries, for topping

Procedure:

  1. In a pan, toast the oats and walnuts with the ground vanilla, stirring frequently to prevent burning.
  2. Combine the banana, icecubes, cacao powder, dates, water and vanilla extract in a blender and blend into a yummy chocolate milk.
  3. Take the oats/walnuts off of the heat and add the rest of the dry ingredients, then pour into a bowl.
  4. Optionally top with fresh banana and raspberries, then pour the chocolate milk on top.
  5. Enjoy as a single serving if you’re very hungry, or separate into two servings.

This is quite filling, so if you aren’t into big breakfasts, I suggest splitting this serving into two. Or make a double batch and then it might serve 3.

If you don’t have any chia seeds, feel free to sub them for flax seeds, or skip them entirely. Of course, you can also enjoy this toasted muesli without the chocolate milk, but it goes super well with the vanilla flavor of the muesli, the cacao nibs and the mulberries. If you would like this to be sweeter, feel free to add some maple syrup to the bowl.

This can be made in larger batches, but it’s such a quick breakfast either way that it’s not necessary.

The dates make this chocolate milk deliciously sweet, which is perfect as the muesli itself isn’t sweet at all. So, like I said, if you skip the chocolate milk, add some maple syrup.

2016-01-10 10.19.31

I really loved this breakfast last Sunday, even if it was much more filling than usual. But the puffed quinoa my mom got me is definitely going to become a staple in my household…pretty awesome!

 

Leave a Reply

