Oil-free White Bean Hummus

I have tried going vegan before – those of you who have been following me since the beginnings of hitbycoconuts might remember that. I started hitbycoconuts as a result of disovering a lot of food allergies and intolerances, and as I was trying to reorganize my eating according to what I was allowed and mostly not allowed to eat, I thought I’d give vegan food a try. I have a few friends who had gone vegan for various reasons the years before and who all experienced veganism’s benefits quite immensely. I therefore thought I’d give it a try and was hoping to feel the same amazing change in energy, body-feeling etc.

Sadly, that didn’t work out whatsoever. I informed myself, bought a few cookbooks, and ended my four-week trial after three weeks because I was so desparate for meat and cheese that I ate a whole package of salami and gouda. Not my finest moment, but my body just couldn’t deal. And I suspect that’s due to two reasons: a) I don’t do well on any kind of restriction, and as I was and am suffering from quite a few intolerances, I only added food to the “do not eat” list instead of embracing my own personal new way of eating.

And b) I can’t deal with chickpeas. I love them, and had them almost daily in any “form”, be it hummus, roasted, boiled, as sweet cookie dough…I love love LOVE chickpeas. But my body hates me whenever I have them, which means after three weeks of living on chickpeas alone (I’m exaggerating), I had come to know a whole new side of bloating and acne.

But this post isn’t supposed to be about why I ended my vegan experiment, this intro is supposed to let you know why I prefer white bean hummus over chickpea hummus: I try to avoid chickpeas as much as possible. When I make my vegan cookie dough balls, I kind of can’t always make them with white beans, as they do taste different, but I no longer make homemade chickpea hummus. It’s too dangerous to have around, as I always eat it.

What I like about this particular recipe is that it contains no oil or fats (except for the naturally found fat in tahini/sesame paste), and it’s wonderfully citric. I recently discovered that store-bought hummus usually contains some sort of vinegar, probably to preserve it, but I like the taste, so I added a lot of lemon juice ratio-wise.

I love the typical combo of hummus and carrots, but cherry tomatoes or grapes go so well with hummus as well. I think for New Year’s, all I would’ve needed for dinner is a large hummus platter with crudités, but I have the sneaking suspicion my friends would’ve expelled me from their party.

2015-12-28 16.30.53

Oil-free White Bean Hummus

  • Servings: 2
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 can of white beans (= 1/2 cup), rinsed
  • 1 small garlic clove
  • 1 heaped tsp. tahini
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp. salt (to taste)
  • freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/8 cup water
  • juice from 1/2 lemon

Procedure:

1. In a food processor, blend all the ingredients until you have a smooth paste.

2. Fill into two same-sized containers, and store in the fridge.

Note: The  hummus will thicken up if you cool it before serving, so add more water if you would like it to be less thick for serving.

2015-12-28 16.19.02

I love that this is exactly two snack-servings, which means I can enjoy my hummus on two separate days and only need to prepare something once. If I cut up the double amount of carrots (or whatever veggie I am having), there is no work involved the second time. Talk about meal prep goals!

2015-12-28 16.26.16

If your sesame paste is salted, you may not need to add any salt. Mine is all-natural, and I like salty things (shame on me), so I often need to add a little bit more after it’s blended up. To spice it up, add some chili powder!

2015-12-28 16.31.04

Hummus is one of the things I loved discovering during my short vegan phase…be it as a dip, on sandwiches, or in a salad bowl (see my Big Hummus Bowl, for example). The fact that it tastes so good made from white beans is perfect for my sensitive tummy!

By the way, this hummus will keep in the fridge for at least 3 days, maybe longer. As there is no oil involved, there’s nothing keeping it from going off, so be careful after 3 days! But, if we’re being honest, it’s no problem devouring two small snack-sized servings of hummus within 3 days, right? RIGHT!?

Leave a Reply

