Overnight Macadamia Oats

I was thinking about calling this recipe “Overnight nutpulp oats”, but the more I looked at it on my screen, the more I realized that “nutpulp” is a terrible word. It just doesn’t really imply something delicious, at least not to me. So “Overnight macadamia oats”, while describing the exact same thing, was the better choice for naming this wonderful breakfast.

Those of you following my instagram will have seen a picture of a huge cup of coffee creamed with homemade macadamia milk on Tuesday…and while I haven’t made it in a while, it is really something I sincerely love. There is just something so comforting about homemade nutmilk, as you can make it as thick and creamy as you like! The only problem is that you’re left with nutpulp that seems too good to throw out. Hence: Overnight nutpulp…uhm macadamia oats.

I make my macadamia milk by blending a cup of macadamia nuts soaked in boiling water for 30 min with 3 cups of fresh water, a teaspoon of vanilla essence and two dates. Pour it through a nutmilk bag or cheesecloth, and you’ve got the base of this post’s recipe.

Overnight oats are a great way to start the day without spending any time on breakfast. You can prepare them 3 days ahead, and you’ll have a grab-and-go breakfast to enjoy on the train or even in your first break at work, if you’re not into eating something when you wake up.

I always eat breakfast at home, but don’t mind having something prepared that I can then eat after my morning yoga session (which I am proud to say I do every weekday morning without fail, even if it’s just for 15 minutes sometimes). These overnight oats are really awesome because they consist of almost no oats – and you might want to experiment leaving out the oats completely if you have issues with oats.

You can play with your mix-ins, as always. I kept it fairly neutral, not adding anything extra other than a handful of frozen strawberries which thaw into the overnight oats and make a beautiful splotchy color addition.

2016-02-02 20.29.59

If you don’t like macadamia nuts, try making cashew milk and using the leftover nutpulp in this overnight oats recipe.

Overnight Macadamia Oats

  • Servings: 2
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cups nutpulp
  • 1 banana
  • 2 Tbs. chia seeds
  • 4 Tbs. oats
  • 2 cups oat milk (or macadamia milk)
  • 2 handfuls of frozen strawberries (optional)

Procedure:

1. Mix together half of the amounts in a jar each, mashing the banana and making sure it’s all well-combined. Optionally add a handful of frozen strawberries each.

2. Place the jars in the fridge and allow to thicken up overnight.

3. Enjoy in the morning. If it’s too thick for your liking, add more milk.

2016-02-02 20.15.27

Like I said, you can use any other type of plant or nutmilk you want. I personally like saving my macadamia milk for my coffee, but if you want to go overboard with the macadamia theme, go ahead and use it for these overnight oats!

2016-02-02 20.30.06

If you want to top these with some molten coconut butter in the morning or be very decadent and make some chocolate date sauce, feel free to do so! I absolutely adore this lower carb version of overnight oats…eventhough that wasn’t my motivation in coming up with the recipe. I just wanted to use up my delicious nutpulp and not waste it.

2016-02-02 20.30.16

Have a great week, everyone, and go ahead and make some macadamia milk, so you’ll have nutpulp to make this breakfast! For other ideas what you can do with nutpulp, check out these recipes:

White Chocolate Cashew Cookies

Healthy Vegan Carrot Bread

Chocolate Praline Balls

 

Leave a Reply

