Apple Cinnamon Granola Clusters

I am feeling very allergy-ridden today. I have no idea what’s going on, but it seems I am eating things I’m not liking…or my body doesn’t. I am kind’a too fed up to think about what it may be, as I am currently a bit frustrated about having to refrain from eating certain foods, anyway, so the thought of leaving out something else is really getting on my nerves. It’s always like that when I go out a lot, I start craving wheat and dairy like nothing else, and while I know it sounds childish, you try going without it for 2 years and see how you like it. And not by choice, but by force.

Anyways.

My breakfast was pretty good. Pretty VERY good.

I ran out of my Peanutbutter Granola and wanted to try something new, so I threw some things together with applejuice and cinnamon, et voilá, the best-looking granola I have made till now was born. It’s super crunchy, super fruity and nut-free, which might be interesting for a lot of you who are also suffering from allergies.

2016-02-07 18.54.51

The trick to getting granola to be super crunchy is a) you need to keep it in the oven at a low temperature for longer than you’d think and b) you need to use oil. I have tried making fat-free granola clusters and ended up with a kind of toasted muesli…which, you know, tastes good, too, but if you’re looking for some bigger chunks to munch on, that’ll hardly be satisfying.

The mix of apple and cinnamon is a real no-brainer, and if you want to make the apple-flavor even more prominent, I suggest you do as I do and chop up 1 1/2 apples for breakfast, add a few Tablespoons of this granola and enjoy an apple-granola-oatmilk-bowl, featuring a lot of apple with a bit of granola. So delicious, crunchy and healthy!

2016-02-07 18.53.24

I added raisins to the mix after it came out of the oven. That’s another trick I learned after making a few batches of granola that really just weren’t very good…add dried fruit AFTER baking, otherwise they’ll burn. Or, as my boyfriend dryly added: “They’re already dried, after all.”

Apple Cinnamon Granola Clusters

  • Servings: 3 cups
  • Time: 5 min. + 45 min.
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups oats mixed with your desired seeds/flakes
  • 10 dates
  • 1/2 cup apple juice (organic, non-sweetened)
  • 1 Tbs. honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 handful crushed apple chips
  • 2-3 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup raisins

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 160°C (320°F). Add the dates, apple juice, honey, molten coconut oil, maple syrup and cinnamon to a food processor and mix until a smooth paste forms.

2. In a separate bowl, add the oats and apple chips. Then pour the paste over the oats and apple chips and mix until well-combined.

3. Line a baking tin with baking parchment, then spread the raw granola out on top.

4. Bake for 20 minutes, then take out of the oven stir around, making sure the edges don’t burn. Bake for 10 more minutes at 160°C, then turn down the heat to 120°C (248°F). Bake for another 15 minutes, until completely browned and crunchy.

5. Take out of the oven and add the raisins, stirring it carefully without breaking apart all of the clusters.

6. Store in an airtight container.

Feel free to add as many dried apple chips as you like…the more, the crunchier and fruitier! Or leave them out if you don’t like dried fruit in your granola. The apple juice gives the oats a fruity flavor nonethelesss.

2016-02-07 17.05.35

If you’re into raw granola, you could allow this to dry in a dehydrator and it would probably also taste very good. I just love how pretty granola is! Those little pumpkin seeds and apple chips make oats look so much fun.

2016-02-07 18.55.52

It’s very important that you store the granola in an airtight jar, otherwise it’ll become less crunchy. But, trust me, this won’t have a long shelf-life once you taste it…it’s truly addictive, and not only because it’s so noisy when you munch on it. Have fun with this healthy granola recipe and let me know if you like it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

