Dreamy Carrot Cake Overnight Oats

The main reason people make overnight oats is because they want to save time in the morning. Right!? Well, I have come up with an overnight oat recipe that doesn’t really cut the “throw-together-in-2-minutes” thing, but the few extra minutes you spend will be incredibly worth it. I have come up with the best, and I seriously mean THE best overnight oats. Carrot Cake Overnight Oats. Yes. It’s true.

And this isn’t your standard knock-off that pretends to be delicious eventhough it’s healthy and really doesn’t taste like the real thing at all. These overnight oats are as much the real thing as carrot cake is…if that makes any sense at all.

The extra work you put in to make these really amazing – extra flavorful, extra creamy, extra satisfying and truly “carrot-cake”-like. And the best thing is: The extra work I am talking about is simply heating a tsp. of coconut oil and grating one carrot. Yes, other than that, you’re good to go with your standard overnight oatmeal prep work.

I love these oats so much I am seriously debating making a quintuple batch and having these for breakfast the entire week. (For those of you who didn’t look it up like I did, “quintuple” means five-fold.) You can change these up by adding cranberries instead of raisins or using nuts other than walnuts…but I decided to keep it a standard version.

2016-02-07 09.53.39

Topping it with half a banana and a sliced apple is completely optional, but I loved it that way. Adding some granola clusters would also be a great idea, preferably apple-cinnamon granola.

Or, if you happened to make my favorite carrot cake and have a piece left-over, I dare you to crumble a piece of it on top of this oatmeal…wow, I just started panting. I think I may have to bake that cake now, simply so that I can enjoy it with this oatmeal. (By the way, you could heat this oatmeal in the morning if you don’t want to enjoy it cold – but I do suggest making it the night before, as it allows the oats to really be soaked in flavor.)

Carrot Cake Overnight Oats

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 10 min. + overnight
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup + 1 Tbs. oats
  • 1 Tbs. chia seeds
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 cup oat milk
  • 1 grated carrot
  • 1 tsp. coconut oil
  • 1 Tbs. chopped walnuts
  • 1 Tbs. raisins
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • a dash of vanilla extract

Procedure:

1. In a small pot, heat the coconut oil and add the grated carrot, walnuts, raisins and spices (incl. the vanilla extract). Sautée for 5 minutes.

2. Mash the banana and add the oats and chia seeds to a jar. Top it with the sautéed carrot-raisin-walnut mix.

3. Pour the oat milk (or whichever milk you’re using) on top and stir well.

4. Place the jars in the fridge and allow to thicken up overnight.

5. Enjoy in the morning. If it’s too thick for your liking, add more milk.

If your banana is ripe enough, chances are you won’t need any extra sweetener. But, if you do, maple syrup or honey (if you’re not vegan) are great in this recipe.

It’s already so pretty just sitting in that jar…at least to me. Can you tell I’m in love with these overnight oats yet!? 🙂

2016-02-07 09.51.47

When I was eating them Sunday morning, I asked my boyfriend if he wanted to try them. His reply was “Do you need me to?”. So I decided not to let him, as he’s just no appreciater of “sweet” dishes, even if they’re all-naturally sweetened and healthy. I’m not gonna force anyone to share these with me if they don’t want to!

2016-02-07 09.53.49

Alright, I’ll leave you by simply telling you to make this recipe at least once, even if you’ve had bad experiences with overnight oats. Chances are, these’ll change your mind. Seriously – they’re just dreamy!

 

Leave a Reply

