Blueberry Coconut Ginger Cookies

I have a headache. I guess I am becoming a cliché. I often wonder what makes being a teacher so exhausting. And why it seems to me as if it’s more exhausting than other jobs. Or is that just me throwing myself a pity party?

Of course, I am being trained at the moment, and that’s probably hard in any kind of job. But I also feel like being a teacher is incredibly underestimated – I mean, how hard is it going to be to teach a couple of kids some stuff? I think of myself as a person who is and will continue to be a good teacher. Of course, I am learning, and I have loads more to learn and perfect, but I feel like I am able to teach successfully very often. But I also leave school with a pounding headache and start some lessons with a feeling of dread in my stomach, hoping everything will go as planned.

Being a teacher is about so much more than just talking to students and explaining the rules of English grammar. It’s about actually arousing the motivation children may or may not already have and then use that motivation in such an effective way that they leave the classroom smarter than when they entered. Sounds idealistic, and it really is, but that’s the part that’s so tough for teachers, I think. Generally speaking, we’re an idealistic, perfectionist and extremely ambitious “folk”, and we get highly disappointed if something doesn’t work out as planned. When we mess up, we mess up children, for God’s sake! We mess up their future, their life, their entire personality – at least that’s what we think.

The good thing is, when we do mess up, we can always come back to this blog post, feel understood, cry a little and then bake these blueberry coconut ginger cookies without messing up. Perhaps then our “burden” will lighten a bit, because, well, cookies make everything better, don’t they? (And I am extremely proud of how I turned the corner from philosphical pondering of the teacher’s being to a cookie recipe, so don’t hate on me.)

2016-01-17 15.04.26

These cookies are crunchy on the outside and have a nice and soft middle, but they’re not cake-y or moist! I love the combination of ginger, coconut and blueberries. Seriously, I think I may have to make a smoothie to go along with these. How great would that be? “Blueberry Coconut Ginger Cookies with a Ginger Coconut Blueberry Smoothie”!? My mind is blown already.

2016-01-17 15.02.31

If you want add extra crunch to these, you can go as far as adding some chopped cashews or almonds, but I felt like adding coconut chips was crunch enough for me. These are vegan, wheat-free and super easy to make! So, if you’ve had a bad day or are sporting a headache like me, go ahead and make these. I’m not sure what they’ll do to help your headache, but at least you’ll have a headache AND cookies.

Wow.

I feel extremely hilarious today, it seems.

Let’s just get to the recipe, shall we?

Blueberry Coconut Ginger Cookies

  • Servings: 15 cookies
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup spelt flour (or rice flour for glutenfree option)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla essence
  • 1/4 cup brown cane sugar
  • 2 1/2 Tbs. date sweetener (10 dates blended with 1/4 cup water)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 flax egg
  • 1 Tbs. coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup coconut chips
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground ginger

Procedure:

1. In a small bowl, mix 1 Tbs. of ground flax seeds with 3 Tbs. of water to make your flax egg. Allow to set for a few minutes.

2. Preheat the oven to 175° C (350°F). Mix all the other ingredients together and stir in the flax egg.

3. Roll the dough into balls and then flatten them. They will not change shape, so make them as thick or thin as you like. For a thinner cookie, halve the baking time.

4. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown outside.

5. Allow to cool down, then store in an airtight container.

The part that’s the most fun about the dough is how it changes color once you add the blueberries!

I didn’t find the ginger taste too prominent, but if you don’t like ginger, I think you may want to leave it out, as it is definitely there.

2016-01-17 15.04.21

These are delicious dipped in some cashew milk, or enjoyed crumbled over a smoothie. Or just eat them straight from the jar. How’s your headache doing?

2016-01-17 15.04.39

I am a teacher. But I am also a food blogger, and eventhough there aren’t even 100 people following my blog, I am so grateful for those 70 of you who do – you make me more than just that idealistic, perfectionist, overly ambitious headache-plagued mental case I feel like a lot these days. Have fun with these cookies, and let me know how you like them!

Leave a Reply

