Product Review: Chocolate and co.

I’m coming at you from a place of headaches. I have felt it coming on all day, and I guess now it’s finally hitting me. I’m not gonna whine too much about it, though, as I feel like it’s something that has been happening quite frequently, so I guess it’s not worth whining about every time. I’m headed for a nice bubblebath after this blogpost, so that’ll probably help a lot.

Before I relax, though, I thought I’d show you some of the new vegan goodies I’ve been enjoying lately. I love discovering new superfoods, chocolates that are accidentally or intentionally vegan and colorful food. If that has caught your attention, I suggest you continue reading NOW.

I thought I’d start and end this product review with chocolate, because, well, that’s what tends to get people’s attention. This isn’t the best picture, but the chocolate itself was so good that I had to share it anyways. I didn’t manage to take a second picture before I had eaten it all.

1. Quinoa Crisp “Milk” Chocolate

2015-12-28 20.48.32

What: a vegan chocolate based on rice milk, with loads of puffed quinoa added in for a fun crunch

Where to buy it: Biomarkt

This chocolate was quite pricey, but as far as chocolate goes, I think “normal” people tend to pay a lot more than they realize, simply because the amount of chocolate they eat is bigger. This one is hard to savor for long though, as it is quite sweet and if you have a sweet tooth like me, it’ll probably be gone within days.

2. Carob powder

2015-11-06 10.05.01

What: Carob Powder, an alternative to sweetened cocoa, is derived from a brown plant growing in the Mediterranean and it’s naturally sweet.

Where to buy it: Either on the website http://www.vollwertcenter.de or at the Reformhaus.

Honestly, I wouldn’t buy it though. To me, it doesn’t taste enough like chocolate to actually be a serious replacement and I just don’t see the point of using it. I’ll probably use it up for baking, but no more mixing it into smoothies, oatmeal or nicecream – I just don’t like subbing out cocoa.

3. Mazafaati Dates

2016-01-12 19.16.49

What: The best dates you can get (besides Medjool). They are much softer than Medjool dates and ideal for making caramel, baking or in smoothies.

Where to get it: Netto, sometimes at Edeka

4. Beet Spelt Crackers

2015-12-31 17.16.02

What: Wheat-free crackers with dried beet

Where to get it: Biomarkt

These crackers are especially great because they are so beautiful. And yes, they do taste like beet, so if you don’t like beetroot, stay away from these. I love dipping them in some of my white bean hummus or enjoying them with some salsa…but, honestly, I am not the biggest cracker fan. They usually end up sitting around in my cupboard, going stale. But these are definitely worth trying if you love crackers!

5. Peppermint Chocolate (Accidentally Vegan)

2016-03-01 15.03.18

Now this last product has got me very excited. I discovered it only this week and it is the bomb, guys. It has a really thick peppermint layer and is accidentally vegan – I am not sure how high the cocoa % is, but it is definitely not whole milk chocolate and has no milk powder or stuff like that. It says “peppermint cream” filling, but there is no cream involved. It’s quite sweet, but I absolutely love it, especially because the peppermint filling really melts in your mouth and cools it all down. So good!

What: Peppermint Cream Chocolate (Vegan)

Where to get it: Netto

And with that, I conclude my product review for today. I hope I could help those of you out who are debating whether to buy vegan options/superfoods or stuff like that, and maybe I’ve let you know of some products you didn’t know about before. Whatever the case, I’m out for today and heading to my bathtub. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

