Mango Coconut Yogurt Bliss Balls

I know, I know, I haven’t been on top of my game and have seriously slacked out of writing you blog posts. The thing is, it’s not that I haven’t been photographing my recipes or that I haven’t been coming up with any, I have just been to wiped out to write up the posts. I’m truly sorry, but I am in that part of life everybody looks back on and says “It sucked.” So, that’s my excuse, there you have it. And, now that I’m on break, I’ll be back hitting you with new recipes and posts. Let’s just be friends again. 🙂

If you’re not quite feeling that yet, then just wait until you’ve made these new bliss balls. They are a mix of

frozen yogurt flavor, tropical mango and some melt-in-mouth honey tahini drizzle on top. These are raw, frozen treats and are glutenfree, vegan deliciousness. Yes, this is happening guys…like I said, I’m back after a bit of a blogging break and I’m ready to amaze y’all.

2016-03-12 16.34.05

So the beautiful bliss balls on the left are what we’re talking ’bout today. The raw vegan glutenfree twix bars on the left I’ll treat you with some other day, okay?

I added some cranberries to these bliss balls, simply because I love cranberries and the sour sweet taste they add. You can absolutely leave them out or add other dried fruits – even some dried mango chunks, if you wanna up the mango flavor in these even more – in fact, I would probably add dried pineapple if I weren’t allergic. The tahini-honey topping is obviously not vegan, but if you are really stressed out about honey, then go ahead and sub some agave syrup. You might not wanna add as much, though, because it might become too runny.

Mango Coconut Yogurt Bliss Balls

  • Servings: 12
  • Time: 10 min. + freezing time
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dried mango
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 Tbs. agave syrup
  • 2 Tbs. sweet lupins yogurt (or soy yogurt)
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 Tbs. molten coconut oil
  • 2 Tbs. tahini
  • 1 Tbs. honey

Procedure:

  1. Pour some boiling water on the dried mango and wait for 2 minutes.
  2. Place the mango, agave syrup and yogurt in a food processor and mix it all up.
  3. Stir in the shredded coconut and dried cranberries.
  4. Form balls out of the “dough” and place in the freezer. You may need to wet your hands with a bit of water if the mix keeps sticking to your hands.
  5. Freeze for 1 hour.
  6. Mix together the molten coconut oil, tahini and honey (or more agave) in a small bowl.
  7. Take the bliss balls out of the freezer and drizzle the tahini honey mix on top.
  8. Place back in the freezer for at least one more hour.
  9. Before serving, allow to thaw for about 10 minutes.

These are great as a treat with your coffee, as a light dessert and they are definitely not as filling as nut-based bliss balls. The fat is quite low in these, too…so, if you’re looking for a “light” bliss ball recipe, this is the one for you. I personally wouldn’t leave out the tahini honey drizzle, because that adds such a delicious extra flavor that it really makes these bliss balls what they are. But if you’d rather drizzle some molten coconut butter on top, I’m sure that would also taste swell.

2016-03-12 12.35.04

2016-03-12 14.30.29

The drizzling part is so much fun – but make sure you really allow the bliss balls to freeze for at least an hour before you do, so that once you add the drizzle, it will firm up immediately. If they aren’t cold enough, the drizzle will flow off the balls without sticking.
2016-03-12 14.31.45

These keep for about two weeks in the freezer, maybe longer. Let me know if you like them!

 

Leave a Reply

