Glutenfree Hazelnut Chocolate Chunk Cookies

I have finally finished preparing all my lessons for next week. Which means I actually get two more days off before the craziness starts again. And that’s very good, because I don’t feel ready. I don’t feel ready to start giving 100% again, I don’t feel ready to leave home and my boyfriend.

What I do feel ready for is starting to take better care of myself again. I really let my doing sports go a bit the past weeks, and haven’t been enjoying cooking as much. The cooking part has gotten a lot better in the two weeks off from school, mostly because I love my kitchen at home so much more than the one at my apartment, but also because I wasn’t cooking for just me.

Does anybody else understand that when you have someone who is also eating the food, you just get more excited about preparing it? That’s definitely how I feel. Which is probably why my boyfriend loves having me around. 🙂 At least that must be a part of it.

Another reason I have started enjoying prepping food again is because a) I finally got around to buying deliciouslyella’s new book “Deliciously Ella Every Day” and got some new inspiration…eventhough I must say I dislike the fact that she no longer uses the “cup” measurements and has started using grams. And b) I finally had some new ideas. Not that baking cookies is an amazing new idea, but I rarely craved specific sweets those last weeks before the break; I just wasn’t good at listening to my body, so I didn’t really feel like any specific cookies.

Now, this week, that was different. All I wanted was a good chocolate chip cookies, but with a nutty element as well…and I searched the web for a good recipe, but all I could find were non-vegan ones. Finally, I decided to make my own version and succeeded in making a glutenfree, vegan chocolate chunk cookie using hazelnut meal and oat flour as a base.

These cookies are so good that you’ll likely eat three right away and then somehow will yourself to put the rest away in a cookie jar so you don’t eat them all. They are the perfect mix of soft and crunchy cookie and the chocolate chunks are so abundant that there is chocolate in EVERY. SINGLE. BITE. Yes, I have created amazing cookies.

And I feel like I’m back at it with cooking and sports are gonna follow soon enough. I don’t believe in bashing myself into doing something like sports, because that never ends well. It definitely doesn’t end in me enjoying myself and feeling like it’s taking weight off of my shoulders…which I feel is the most important thing when your work life is taking it all out of you.

So, these cookies. Let me present them to you.

2016-04-01 11.39.41

Glutenfree Hazelnut Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  • Servings: 9
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups hazelnut meal
  • 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chunks (74% chocolate, 100g)
  • 3 Tbs. maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup mashed banana
  • 1 Tbs. chia seeds + 3 Tbs. water
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Procedure:

  1. Preheat the oven to 175°C (350°F).
  2. Mix together the chia egg and mash half a banana to make about 1/4 cup.
  3. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, then add the wet ingredients on top and make into a dough.
  4. Spread a baking parchment onto a baking tin and then make cookies out of 2 Tbs. of dough each.
  5. Flatten the dough a little (dough will spread though) and then bake for 8 minutes, or until the edges are a golden brown.
  6. Allow to cool completely and then store in the fridge.

Since the dough is vegan, you don’t have to feel guilty about eating a spoon or two. Or, if you wanna make these into cookie dough bites, simply roll them into balls and store in the freezer – works very well!

2016-04-01 10.19.59

When they come fresh from the oven, they don’t seem too firm, but don’t worry. Once they have cooled down and you’ve stored them in the fridge, they firm up. They are sweet, but not sickly sweet and the chocolate is prevalent. I like having one for breakfast with a bunch of fruit, or with a cup of coffee in the afternoon (or both).

2016-04-01 11.39.32

Since these are quite moist cookies, though, make sure to store them in the fridge, otherwise they may go mouldy – and that would be too bad!

2016-04-01 11.39.47

Hopefully, I’ll be able to come up with a few more good recipes for you this weekend, so that I can share at least one recipe with you a week. But please, bear with me if I don’t – it’s not easy to keep up with it when there’s so much else to do.

Leave a Reply

