Track it: What’s in my lunchbox?

Four out of five days a week, I have my lunch out of a lunch box. Sometimes, it’s even five days a week. Since I know that many people struggle to know what to take to school / work / kindergarden / uni, I thought I’d show you what I had in my lunchbox the past three days. I have been trying to cut back on my grocery shopping, so I am willing myself NOT to go grocery shopping till Friday (at which point I’ll have run out completely, trust me). But that means careful planning with my fruit and veggies! I love making myself plant-based, mostly low-carb lunches for school, as I feel like a heavy, carby lunch makes me quite sluggish. I did have one high-carb lunch this week, but that was the day I knew I would be going for a run straight after work and didn’t want to get home famished. That would’ve meant I had to eat something before going on a run, and therefore I’d have to wait, and it would’ve gotten dark, and I wouldn’t have gone. Hence, sometimes high-carb lunches are great.

Monday

On Monday, I packed myself a salad. The leafy base was rocket, topped with cherry tomatoes, cucumber slices, raw mushroom slices, some goat’s milk feta and dried cranberries. And, I added some of my white bean croutons, which I absolutely love making for days I pack a salad “only”. These will fill you right up and leave you satisfied. Combined with the feta (which can be switched for tofu if you’re vegan), it’s seriously a filling yet light lunch. I like to make my dressing ahead of time and then store it in a smaller container. I then add it right before eating the salad, that way it doesn’t get soggy.

2016-04-04 07.02.26

As you can see, I also had a green smoothie on the side that I had made the night before. It totally works for me to prepare them ahead of time and store them in the fridge overnight, but if you don’t want to risk the smoothie looking a bit funny, I suggest making it the morning before you go.

This picture is actually quite hilarious because you can’t even see my salad base anymore. I guess I went slightly overboard with the toppings. 🙂

Tuesday

So on Tuesday, I went for that run after school, so this was my carby lunch. I really don’t want to say that having bread for lunch is somehow bad, I have just come to realize that I don’t do super well with a high-carb lunch if I have it every day. So, I usually stick to low-carb, high (plant-)protein lunches and then have some dates when I come home after school and some carbs for dinner.

On Tuesday, I took a homemade vegan buttermilk bun I still had from baking last week, spread some vegan cheeze tomato spread on top. I haven’t got a recipe for this particular one as I kind’a threw it together the night before, but it’s very similar to this tomato pesto, only that I added 1/8 cup of nutritional yeast. I love having some sort of vegan spread in my pantry at all times, I feel like having some on toast or rye bread with some cucumber or lettuce on top can already be half a decent meal.

For this packed lunch, I made an eggplant burger, which is a fancy name for a bun spread with the vegan cheese tomato spread thingy (on both halves of the bun), some sautéed eggplant stripes and finally, some fresh rocket on top. And by some rocket, I mean a whole handful. It was basically salad on a bun, but you can’t really tell in the picture.

2016-04-05 06.34.09

As I usually like to take something fairly sweet with me for lunch as well (see the smoothie on Monday), and I was “carbing up” for my run, I also had one of my bananas. I rarely transport bananas in non-smoothie-form, it just gets complicated, as you can see in my picture below.

2016-04-05 06.36.06

I am not sure how I could’ve packed that lunch more intelligently. Any tips?

Btw, this lunch is completely vegan without having to sub anything out.

Wednesday

On Wednesday, I took one of my all-time favorite lunch staples. It’s so simple I can never believe how good it tastes and looks, in my opinion. I simply spiralized a zucchini to make raw zoodles, topped that with the left-over white bean croutons I had from Monday’s salad, added some cherry tomatoes and pumpkin seeds on top. As my pesto / sauce, I mixed some of the vegan cheeze tomato spread with water to make it more fluid, packed that on the side and poured it on top right before I ate. In this case, the tomato pesto I mentioned earlier would work wonderfully, too.

2016-04-05 20.05.48

I just realized I added the pumpkin seeds after I took the picture. Ooops.

So, that’s it for today’s “Track it”-post. I have no idea if I inspired you to try anything, but I hope you at least enjoyed hearing about my lunches. Let me know what you have for lunch in the posts below – I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

