Low-Carb Eggplant Baby Pizzas

I was really craving pizza the other day, but didn’t feel like going on and on making the crust in an oven that barely works. Plus, I rarely feel good and energized after pizza; sadly, it does always leave me feeling quite heavy. I wasn’t in the mood for that, so I searched my fridge for an alternative. Just as I was about to give up…drumroll, please…I came up with the easiest, quickest, plant-based pizza alternative you could think of. And you can make it without an oven, which is truly perfect for anyone in my shoes.

I made a fairly small amount, as I was eating these baby pizzas along with some left-overs I had in my fridge, but if you don’t want this to be snack-serving-size, I suggest you double the recipe! I really loved how crunchy the egg-plant “base” got despite the fact that egg-plant usually goes mushy and soft when you cook it in a pan.

The key here, my friends, is: Oil.

And lots of it. I have recently started using a lot more oil than I used to. I have come to find that my fear of overusing oil has resulted in me underusing it…and, when it comes to plant-based, low-carb meals, it’s really all about the oil. I would probably cut back on it if I were basing a meal around starches, simply because, again, it doesn’t leave me feeling quite as heavy. But that’s just the wonder of food-combining, really. If you’re interested in that kind of thing, I highly recommed you check out the detoxinista’s blog, as it really explains it well without going completely overboard. Personally, I don’t really follow food-combining rules, but have found that if I pay a little attention, it works out quite well for me.

Back to these pizzas. I thought of making up a cuter name, because really, these are baby pizzas, but there doesn’t seem to be a proper cute minimization…pizzlettes?…pizzatas?…pizzalitos? What do you think?

2016-04-04 19.01.43.jpg

Like I said, not a huge serving size, but perfect as a light dinner or a pre-dinner snack.

Low-Carb Eggplant Pizzas

  • Servings: 1
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbs. tomato-infused olive oil (or plain olive oil)
  • 1 small eggplant
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 Tbs. maize
  • 1 small shallot
  • 1 Tbs. tomato purée
  • 1 heaped Tbs. grated goat’s cheese
  • oregano
  • salt
  • pepper
  • some rocket (optional)

Procedure:

  1. Heat 1 Tbs. of oil in a pan.
  2. Cut the eggplant into thin slices, about 5. Place the three that aren’t the “edge”-pieces in the pan and sprinkle a bit of salt and oregano on top.
  3. Allow the bottom to brown for about 2 minutes, then flip. Turn down to medium low heat. Add the other Tbs. of oil.
  4. On top, spread a bit of tomato purée and then add the toppings: a sliced shallot, tomato slices, a few maize kernels and, if not vegan, a bit of grated goat’s cheese.
  5. Cover with a lid and keep on the heat until the cheese has molten.
  6. If using, top with rocket and take out of the pan. Sprinkle some pepper on top and enjoy.

This is seriously the easiest “pizza” I have ever made. And feel free to mix up the toppings, too.

It might seem like a lot of oil at first, but eggplant really soaks it up, so don’t worry about it. Remember, you’re not including carbs, so it must be okay. 🙂

I’m fairly sure you could try making these in the oven as well, though I’m not sure whether the bottoms would get as crispy and firm. These are actually possible to pick up with your hands once they are done and have cooled down a litte.

2016-04-04 19.01.43

The lighting was perfect outside today, I love the fact that it’s getting so much warmer!

2016-04-04 19.02.21

I hope you give these a try, they are seriously good. And, seeing as I haven’t posted a savory dish in a while, it’s even more worth trying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

