The best summer smoothie: Galia Melon Ginger Smoothie

After what feels like the longest absence from the blog ever, I have actually felt a little more inspired to write lately. And not just about anything: I have found the perfect summer smoothie recipe, and I bet’cha you haven’t tried this one. Usually, when searching countless recipes for a summer smoothie, you’ll get a blend of strawberries, pineapples, or mango. This smoothie I have been enjoying for 3 weeks straight is surprisingly light and mild, but with a kick from the ginger at the end…making it so much more exciting than any of the other concoctions you may have tried.

This smoothie is perfect post-workout, because it is super hydrating and pumps up your metabolism! I can’t get over how delicious it is, and prefer it over any protein-shake that may be out there.

In fact, I have gotten a lot more simplistic with my smoothies, not really enjoying them as main meals any more. I had a phase of that last spring, while studying for my exams, mostly because I was sitting at my desk all day, so having a huge jar of smoothie to sip on while doing that worked really well. I can’t really down a liter smoothie every morning now that I a) have to get out of the house and b) can’t go pee anytime I need to. I feel like that’s something most food bloggers disregard when they blog…the fact that most people don’t actually spend all day at their apartment, so they’re not able to whip up dishes anytime they want. And they can’t drink heaps and heaps of fluids in the morning because they will have to pee…well, all morning.

That being said, I still have my mandatory glass of lemon water after I get up, it’s just no longer a 700ml mason jar, but a glass that probably fits 300 ml of water. I have a small coffee and, I’ll have this splendid smoothie…but the batch I make lasts me two or three days. Eating habits really change when you start working…well, no, that’s not true, my eating habits change every few weeks, as I usually discover one thing I really really REALLY love (like this smoothie) and then I’ll have it CONSTANTLY (like this smoothie) until I never want to drink or eat it again (hopefully not like this smoothie).

Let’s just get to the recipe, right? Here it goes:

2016-05-30 07.29.18

Galia Melon Ginger Smoothie

  • Servings: 1 large or 2 small
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 medium frozen bananas
  • 1/4 of a whole galia melon (or honeydew melon)
  • a 2″ by 2″ piece of ginger (or the size of both your thumbs)
  • a cup of coconut water
  • 1 tsp. honey (or agave syrup for vegan version)
  • a handful of spinach (optional)

Procedure:

1. Place all the ingredients in a blender, and blend away.

2. Enjoy immediately or store in the fridge in an airtight jar.

2016-05-30 07.29.03

As you can see, I have made this smoothie with and without spinach (or greens in general, I’m personally not that picky), and, to me, there’s not really a difference in taste.

2016-05-08 13.52.00

My boyfriend, I have to admit, prefers a banana-raspberry smoothie over anything containing greens, which is why he doesn’t have my favorite summer smoothie. It’s alright, though, that means there’s more for me. (There’s a lot of bad picture quality going on here, sorry about that.)

One last thing: If you’re not a fan of ginger, I suggest halving the amount at first, because it is really quite spicy. And, if you’re not a fan of banana, try subbing it for a cup of soy yogurt plus an extra teaspoon of honey.

I hope you give this recipe a try, like I said, I’m on a galia-melon-ginger-smoothie-roll right now and don’t see it stopping anytime soon.

 

One thought on “The best summer smoothie: Galia Melon Ginger Smoothie

Leave a Reply

