Chocolate Cashew Cream Filled Strawberries

My parents’ garden is dehydrating. Big time. Even though I am trying my best to keep it alive, the tomatoes’ skin is literally burning off and the sunflowers are wilting. I can’t stop it! Which just goes to show: This weather is NOT good. I seriously can’t deal with the heat. It makes me angry and I don’t know how people actually say they enjoy it. I just really don’t like the constant sweating and dehydration going on. In both plants and myself.

Which is why I needed some cooking or baking to get my mood back on track. Why can’t there be “cooking weather” instead of “heat” or “summer weather”?

What’s the most important thing when cooking while it’s 35°C outside? There should be no actual cooking involved. Meaning the most you should be doing is food processing or blending, but definitely no turning on the oven or stove. Seriously. Remember that if you ever find yourself needing to cook in the heat.

I think I made my point about disliking the weather. Let’s move on.

I had started soaking some cashews this morning, thinking I’d make myself some cashew milk. And then I remembered that my blender broke and I had to send it off to the service center and am currently unable to make cashew milk. Bummer. Especially since by then, my cashews had already been soaking for too long to take them back out. So, instead of throwing a fit, which is pointless when there’s nobody around to witness it (yes, I am a child at heart), I figured I’d make the next best thing: Chocolate Cashew Cream Filled Strawberries. Yes. YES.

2016-08-27 16.38.17

Before all those nutella-lovers out there start mentioning that you could just use nutella – here’s the thing: If you make this cashew cream instead, you will a) use up cashews you started soaking, but more importantly b) you will pack in a lot more nutrients, healthy fats and protein without the buttload of processed sugar. And it tastes seriously good.

2016-08-27 16.34.23

And you don’t have to use it for stuffing strawberries. You could use it as a bread spread, as frosting, or on top of oatmeal. YES.

Chocolate Cashew Cream Stuffed Strawberries

  • Servings: 1 cup cream
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup cashews
  • 5 small dates
  • 3 tsp. cocoa
  • 2 tsp. coconut sugar syrup
  • 1/3 tsp. ground vanilla
  • 1-2 Tbs. nutmilk or water

Procedure:

1. Soak the cashews for at least two hours.

2. Drain the soaked cashews and place in a food processor. Process with the dates until at least crumbly.

3. Add the rest of the ingredients and process until smooth and creamy.

4. Place in the fridge until serving.

5. Stuff some strawberries and enjoy!

2016-08-27 16.36.54

If you have a problem eating strawberries, you could swap them for bananas or any other type of fruit you think pairs well with chocolate. So, basically any piece of fruit.

2016-08-27 16.38.28

YES.YEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSS! Best summer snack ever, so easy to make, so easy to combine with your nailpolish, and so much better for you than nutella. And super tasty, too. If you want, you could omitt the cocoa powder and go for a vanilla cream, by the way.

 

Leave a Reply

