The Best Detox Juice

Last year, I got my parents’ old juice maker for my birthday, but I have to admit that I haven’t used it as much as you might think. The main reason for that is that I wasn’t living at home with my boyfriend for the past year, and had to decide which appliances to take with me to the town I worked in and which to keep here. My blender travelled with me no matter where I went, but my juicer stayed with my boyfriend…because the blender’s simply more versatile than the juicer.

Now that I am no longer commuting every week, I am happy to start using my juicer more regularly again! And with using it more regularly, I have found the perfect juice recipe for those days when you feel just a tad bit heavy.

Summer is almost everybody’s favorite time of year. I love summer, too, but I really don’t like the heat, which is kind’a ironic seeing as I grew up in Africa and so you’d assume I don’t mind. And I definitely don’t look back on those years in Tanzania with memories of ever feeling too hot. But the past few years I have discovered I just don’t like sweating or feeling the need to walk around half-naked.

Maybe there’s just a lot of body-self-consciousness going on and that’s why I don’t like summer? I’m not sure, whatever it is, I just don’t really like temperatures higher than 25°C. I’m weird like that, I guess.

On days when it does get that hot, I find it best to include lots of smoothies and juices in my diet, to a) stay hydrated and b) avoid eating meals that make you feel sluggish and heavy on sweaty days. Which is where today’s recipe comes in: I have found the perfect combination of fruit and veggies that’ll keep you hydrated while providing you with the mildest sweet citric taste and lots of vitamins.

Those of you who have been following for a while will remember my galia melon ginger smoothie that I shared a while ago? Well, this is a knock-off, but in juice form!

2016-08-23 14.56.34

I love the mild sweetness galia melon has, there is just something extremely refreshing about it! And, this juice is a “green” juice without any leafy greens, which is great if you’re not quite ready to try the smoothie version.

The best detox juice

  • Servings: 2 cups
  • Time: 5 mins
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 small cucumbers
  • 1/4 of a galia melon
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 3 small pears
  • a thumb-sized piece of ginger

Procedure:

1. Juice all of the ingredients and enjoy with some icecubes or after cooling.

2016-08-23 14.46.22

I got the cucumbers and pears from my boyfriend’s parents’ garden, which means you can leave the peel on without worrying about any toxins getting in there. Plus, the cucumber actually tastes like something (anybody else feel like store-bought just isn’t as flavorful?).

My juicer is so old that I actually always juice citric fruit separately and then add the juice. If you have a more advanced version, I’m fairly sure you can just add everything to one machine.

2016-08-23 14.56.54

The result is a vibrantly green, frothy, refreshing and super yummy juice that you can enjoy any time of the day! As it was really quite hot the other day, I enjoyed with my super simple lunch of two cobs of corn:

2016-08-23 14.58.26

And yes, that’s a slab of butter on there. I got that detox juice to make it all okay, remember?

Hopefully, this will brighten your Monday a bit! Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

