Glutenfree Rainbow Hummus Tacos

I’m in a mood. Seriously. I don’t even know how my boyfriend is dealing with me today. I’m feeling so incredibly crabby that I can’t even be bothered to think about how to get out of it. It may have something to do with the fact that I am fed up with feeling this tired. I go to bed super early, wake up after 8-10 hours of perfect sleep and feel exhausted and less than motivated. I just have no idea what’s going on there.
At first, I thought it was just because I’ve had a very tireing year. But that school year ended almost 6 weeks ago and I don’t understand why I feel so depleted at the end of my summer break. Any ideas?

In other – and better – news, I had quite the colorful lunch today. I spent my entire day looking at a computer screen, trying to establish some kind of lesson plan for the classes I’ll be teaching next year, and really wasn’t up for a heavy lunch. I had made some red lentil patties for dinner yesterday and there were some left-over, but I didn’t want anything warm. So, what’s a girl to do?

2016-09-06-13-23-39

That’s right, guys, I made these glutenfree hummus “tacos”, even if there is no taco to be seen per say. I used baby romaine lettuce instead and this worked splendidly. Granted, this looks kind of like a big salad plate at first, but, trust me, these can be eaten just like tacos, individually and messily.

Glutenfree Rainbow Hummus Tacos

  • Servings: 1
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 5 firm leaves of romaine lettuce
  • 4-6 tsp. hummus
  • 1 tomato, sliced thinly
  • 1 inch of cucumber, sliced thinly
  • 1 medium carrot, julienned
  • 1 spring onion, chopped
  • 4 red lentil patties (or my tomato quinoa falafels)

Procedure:

1. Spread about 1 tsp. of hummus on each romaine lettuce leaf.

2. Layer on the carrot strips, cucumber, crumbled red lentil patty, tomato and spring onion.

3. Enjoy while fresh and crunchy.

Note: For more spice, add some sriracha on top!

These are so easy, and so satisfying because of the red lentil patties! The hummus I used was store-bought, but feel free to make my oilfree white bean hummus if you’re up to making all of this from scratch. You could also add some avocado and pumpkin seeds instead of the patties for a more creamy yet still crunchy taco.

What I absolutely loved about this lunch is that it came together so quickly. Of course, I had some left-overs, but isn’t that what it’s like throughout the week? I absolutely love using what I have in the fridge to make a true “throw-together” meal.

…and, to prove that these are actually tacos, here’s a picture of me actually holding one. In one hand. And I swear it didn’t come apart once I bit into it.

2016-09-06-13-23-22

Why I am still in a bad mood after this is somewhat of a mystery, I know. I think it may be a mix of feeling tired and realizing that there’s a lot of new stuff coming at me once the new school year begins. Being at a new school, with new kids and a lot more teaching than last year is bound to be a challenge. I’m looking forward to it, yes, but it kind of scares the crap out of me, too.

Let’s not get into that too much today. Let’s just take another close-up look at my lunch.

2016-09-06-13-23-27

Yes. Rainbow Taco is exactly the right description. Don’t you agree?

 

Leave a Reply

