Peanutbutter & Jelly French Toast

I woke up today realizing I still had a few days off before school starts and that I’ve been doing it all wrong. I have been trying to get into a sort of habit all week, “preparing” myself for going back to school. But it just doesn’t work without the structure a typical work day provides. Which is always tough for me, because for me habits and structures is probably the most important thing in life.

I figure, however, that I should really be enjoying my final days of summer break without that feeling of having to do something in the back of my mind, without the giddy stressfulness of starting at a new school, without the utter exhaustion that is bound to come. I just don’t do well with relaxation. It’s super weird, I know, and I really don’t know what’s wrong with me concerning that, but I feel like I function so much better when I have a lot to do.

Today, I managed to sleep in, though. And I only felt semi-guilty about it.

I am coming off like the stupidest person on earth, here, I realize that.

And usually I’d try to force myself into doing a workout right after waking up, which works fine when you wake up quite early because who’s really hungry at 5.30 am!? But when you sleep in, at least that’s what it’s like for me, I usually feel ravenous. Which is why I skipped the pre-breakfast yoga workout and figured I’d just jump straight to breakfast.

It was a good one, too: I made a peanutbutter and jelly sandwich, which would have been beautiful on its own, and took it a step further to make it into a french toast peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Yes, I’m quite serious.

The best thing about it? It’s made up of dairyfree and wheatfree ingredients, meaning I used rye bread instead of toast and oatmilk instead of regular milk. I guess you could try to make this vegan by using a mashed banana instead of the egg, but I haven’t done that yet, so don’t take my word for it.

2016-09-07 09.22.23.jpg

This was so easy to make and counts as total comfort-/holiday-food. It’s weirdly decadent and super satisfying, but I didn’t find it to be weighing me down the rest of the day. The side of peaches was necessary because who knows how much longer they’ll be available? Summer fruit always goes out of season much too quickly. Come to think of it, summer fruit being in season might be my favorite thing about summer. I don’t really like the heat mid-summer, and I don’t usually go to the swimming pool to relax in the sun, so fruit’s really all there’s left.

There I go being weird again. I seriously don’t know why I am so far off what normal people are like.

Let’s just take a look at this beautiful recipe, which is so simple you could even make it throughout the week when you’re working. It only takes a few minutes, I’m guessing around 7 minutes tops.

Peanutbutter & Jelly French Toast Sandwich

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 7 min.
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of rye bread
  • peanutbutter
  • jelly
  • 1/2 tsp. coconut oil
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 1/8 cup of oatmilk (or other plantbased milk)
  • 1/2 banana, cut into coins (optional)
  • a drizzle of maple syrup

Procedure:

1. Spread one slice of rye bread with peanutbutter and the other with jelly, then jam together to make a sandwich.

2. Heat a pan with 1/2 tsp. of coconut oil.

3. Whisk the egg in a soup plate and put the oatmilk in another plate.

4. Start by soaking the sandwich in the oatmilk on both sides, then dip into the whisked egg on both sides.

5. Place the sandwich in the pan and bake until crisp on both sides.

6. Cut in half, spread some banana coins on top (if using) and then drizzle with maple syrup. Enjoy!

It goes without saying that you could also spread this with nutella, chocolate tahini-spread, cashew butter or anything else.

Similarly, you could add some cinnamon to the baking sandwich, or add some chocolate chips to make it even more decadent.

2016-09-07-09-19-27

And then go ahead and drizzle that maple syrup on there. Or chocolate sauce. Or both.

2016-09-07-09-22-10

I had to save half of the egg because one sandwich just didn’t need a whole egg. But that just means I get to make this again sometime this week – perhaps even on my first day of school? That might be really good. REALLY GOOD.

2016-09-07-09-22-26

And with this close-up, I shall leave you to drool. Have a good rest of the week, guys. And make this sandwich, of course. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

