Creamy Coconut Milk Porridge

I’m in a mood. My boyfriend says I’m feeling the November rain – whatever that means. It has been raining a lot this past week, and it has been quite grey and icky outside, but I don’t know if that’s it.

I just don’t feel well. I’m not ill, but somehow my body’s hurting and I’m extremely tired and I feel as icky as the weather is. Oh, and my knee hurts. And did I mention my nails keep chipping?

Told ya. I’m in a mood.

The only really positive thing I can tell you is that I have a splendid new recipe for you. And, it’s perfect for this type of weather, too! It’s my new favorite porridge, oatmeal, whatever you wanna call it. It’s super comforting and warming and so satisfying…seriously my favorite breakfast at the moment!

It’s important you don’t use anything but canned coconut milk for this. I usually use some of the coconut milk I use for my coffee, which I’ve mixed with some water to thin it out slightly and have added vanilla to it…but straight from the can will do. You need the fatty coconut milk to make this taste the way it does,  so please, trust me and don’t freak out about the fat. In this case, you just need it for the taste.

2016-11-14-09-15-42

Well, on this picture you can’t really see anything but the toppings, but trust me, what’s underneath is really what counts.
That’s so true in so many areas of life. 🙂

Creamy Coconut Milk Porridge

  • Servings: 1
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup oats + 1/8 cup oats
  • 2/3 cups water (warm)
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk (from the can)
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla powder

Procedure:

1. Mix 1/3 cup of oats with 2/3 cups of very warm water, ideally boiling. Set aside for 10 minutes, allowing the oats to soak.

2. Heat the oat-water-mix over medium heat, add the coconut milk and 1/8 cup of oats and stir until thick and creamy.

3. Stir in the vanilla (or any other spices you’d like) and serve warm.

Note: Depending on your desired thickness, add more coconut milk or water to the porridge as you are stirring it.

This recipe is super easy to make and really the only important bit is that you soak the oats quickly before you start. It makes the oats break down a bit before you cook them, making the end result less chunky. The coconut milk really adds the final creaminess…and makes this so much like dessert it’s unbelievable.

If you soak and then slowly heat the oatmeal, you’ll easily go from an icky looking mush to super creamy and voluminous oats:

…which is what you want, right!?

As for the toppings, your options are, obviously, endless. I love adding some banana coins, seeds and honey, and perhaps a little peanutbutter, too.

2016-11-14-09-15-34

This is the instagram shot. Before I eat it, I usually mix it all up:

2016-11-14-09-23-15

No longer as pretty, but so yummy.

Literally, this is the only thing that makes me get out of bed in the morning these days. And I’m usually a morning person. There is truly something wrong with me…if I only knew what it is!

 

Leave a Reply

